Logo orange

Susan Jones

Bangor, Gwynedd, Wales

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 37 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Scots; learning French, German, Welsh
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Education Officer
  • Scottish Education (to Advanced High...
  • From Bangor, Oban and Stirling
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Postcard exchanging with the world - beats redecorating! :p

ABOUT ME

I was born in Bangor, Wales, and spent my childhood playing on the edge of Snowdonia National Park. My mum shows and breeds Border Collies, so I was always busy walking and training dogs! In 2000 we moved to Oban, Scotland and I started High School. Was involved with lots through school and the community, most of which helped my degree choice, which I started in 2007. Done some travelling over the years and met some amazing people along the way. Now back in Bangor doing retail work and some photography on the side until something else comes along.

PHILOSOPHY

No matter what life throws at you...keep bouncing back!

Keep calm and carry on/ walk the dog/ ride a horse/ bake a cupcake...

The best things in life are unseen. That's why we close our eyes when we kiss, laugh and dream.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have had some great experiences both hosting and surfing in the UK and around Europe. I've also met with some couch surfing folks for drinks whilst on holidays, and made some great friends in the process!
I'm now trying to get Bangor Couch Surfers into regular get-togethers and trips.

I have just joined the Postcard Exchange group, with the hope of exchanging postcards around the world to redecorate my room and share some Welsh with others! If you would like a postcard, please send me a PM.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Everyone I've met through CouchSurfing have been great!

I've surfed with:
David (Budapest) for 2 nights
Micha(Vienna) for 3 nights
Petra(Prague) for 2 nights
Emel and Frederic (Cologne) for 2 nights
Sylvia (Bournemouth) for 1 night
Rory (Stirling) for 2 nights
Mohammed (Bristol) for 1 night
Lesley (Stamford) for 3 nights
Steve and Snoopy (Peterborough) for 1 night
Henri (Uppsala) for 4 nights
Amir (Uppsala) for 3 nights
Irv (Gloucester) for 4 nights
George (Budapest) for 1 night
Klaudia (Budapest) for 2 nights

I've hosted:
Chris Neels (Vancouver) for 3 nights.
Josephine GB (Copenhagen) for 1 night.
Will Whitty (Stirling) on several occasions.
Joe Miller (Stirling) too many nights to count!

I've met countless couchsurfers, hosts and travellers at various CS meetings in...
Stirling - Already knew a few folks from Uni. Great people!
Bilbao - A small city with a fantastic CS group from all walks of life!
Prague - KARAOKE!!! You guys ROCK!
Amsterdam - Awesome city, we met so many "new" nationalities!
Bangor - the coming and going of students along with a few regulars makes this a very diverse group.

visited 16 states (7.11%)Create your own visited map of The World or Brazil travel guide for Android

Interests

Anything to do with Nature/ Wildlife!
Photography
Horse Riding
Dogs
Travel
Postcard Exchange
Outdoor Education and Adventure!

Music, Movies & Books

I will generally listen to any music and watch most film genres, although some will say my taste in films and music is awful!
I enjoy reading, but wouldn't say I have a preference for any particular style - chick lit, classics, biography historic or anything with animals are good starters!

A few to mention:
Music - Muse, Queen, 30 Seconds to Mars, Lady Gaga, Owl City, Greenday, Lost Prophets, Phil Collins, Meatloaf...
Films - Disney! Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Pirates of the Caribbean, Hot Fuzz, Boat that Rocked, Oceans films, Bourne films...
Books - Empress Orchid, Tenderness of Wolves, Diary of a Call Girl, Twilight, Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, The Loop, James Herriot, Philippa Gregory...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Too many to choose just one!
Stuck in a lightning storm on a hill whilst at camp, and again in Prague! (I like storms!)
Swimming in the Danube.
The adventure to Scotland - ask me more!
Actually seeing, and touching the features from my Geography text books - first in Wales, then in Swanage (me and Old Harry are now best friends!)
Scandinavian Summer - possibly my best summer yet!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm pretty good at cooking good meals out of basic ingredients (having being a student for 4 years!)
I can also help with photography, although my skills are mostly down to luck, and not technical know-how!
If you have dogs, I can help with walking, feeding and training!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile