Heidi Henkel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 60% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Sign Language - American
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • health practitioner, athlete
  • Keene State College associates in dance and music and bac...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Physically active, substance free, health conscious, environmentally conscious, good listener, believe in compromise and cooperation, like all kinds of people, nonsmoker. I like to get enough sleep.

I grew up in Holland, Massachusetts and Keene, New Hampshire, USA.

PHILOSOPHY

It's amazing that there's a planet with life on it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted and I have traveled in Canada.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have enjoyed meeting various people and being able to travel and do my sport affordably.

Interests

I mostly paddle a flat water racing kayak. I do some of those other activities for fun and fitness. I am pretty good at xc skiing, used to race. I play flute, keyboard, and ukelele. I like to sing. I like yoga, contra dance, contact improv, free dance. I don't like to stay out late. I speak French pretty well. Other languages, not so much. I care about ethics and fairness. I like science. I attend nerdy science lectures on occasion. I like to watch birds, and notice flowers and trees. I like cats, dogs, chickens, frogs... Right now I am focusing a lot on paddling.

  • dancing
  • environment
  • running
  • music
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • trail running
  • swimming
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a lot of different kinds of music. Celtic music, country, folk, lots of other kinds of music. I like the books The Boys in the Boat and A Beautiful Mind.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent 2 years primarily helping out a close friend who had cancer. I miss him a lot now. I was with him the day he died. We had a very meaningful communication without speaking.

Teach, Learn, Share

I tutor math, and I can teach sports I know how to do. I am a personal trainer. I do Thai massage, which is done fully clothed. It is a combination of assisted stretching and acupressure. I like to grow vegetable gardens, and have decades of experience organic gardening. I got my bachelor of science degree in Human Movement and Health, and did my final project about mental health alternatives. I am glad to answer questions on those topics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook healthy food. I can do some math/science tutoring, gardening, and answering of questions about health, mental health, and physical activity. I am willing to help out.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Ecuador, Indonesia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi’s full profile. It’s free!