Logo orange

James Skinner

Brighton, England, United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 119 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Youth and Community Worker/ Film-maker
  • I studied a degree in Youth and Comm...
  • From Farnham, Surrey, England
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Am a student again ! Doing an MA in Brighton...

ABOUT ME

I've been living and working abroad (Madagascar and Middle East) for the last couple of years and am back in the UK now... I haven't been involved with couchsurfing in UK for a little while and am looking forward to getting involved again!

PHILOSOPHY

Couchsurfers are just friends you haven't met yet!

(I don't think i'm very good at philosophy!)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I mainly get involved with CS groups when I travel, because I can't host much at the moment. A few years ago when I had my own plac I hosted regularly and was a moderator of the Leicester and Nottingham groups. I loved organising events in those places and met so many great folk!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had some wonderful experiences visiting couchsufers in Malta, Germany, Sicily,France, Madagascar, Israel, Palestine, Jordan, Poland, Netherlands and Morocco, thanks to all of them for their wonderful hospitality, I had some amazing experiences! I love have the opportunity to visit places that I would never find without a local guide!

I have met loads of great people who have come to couchsurf with me in Leicester, Nottingham and Farnham and through the groups/events.

Interests

Travelling and meeting new folk are two of the main ones of course but i'm also a big fan of any activities in the great outdoors and film (both watching and producing whenever I get chance!).

Music, Movies & Books

Jazz, funk, chillout, reggae, alternative etc etc, I like independent British and 'foreign language' films and books that make me think

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I need to list a few...

Seeing everest whilst trekking along the India/Nepal border.

Cycling from the top of Scotland (John O Groats) to the bottom of England (Lands End) and surviving!

Cooking and eating tagine on a morroccan hillside whilst watching the shepherds with couchsurfing friends (thanks Adil).

Waking up at 4000 metres (Toubkal summit) to see the sun rise over the atlas mountains.

Pretty much every moment of my year living in Madagascar!

Teach, Learn, Share

Would be great to cook together, I love learning how to make new things and cooking my favourites for others! I'm learning French at the moment, so look for any chances to practice! I'm also keen to learn anything new... As for teaching... I have media/video skills which I can pass on.

Countries I've Visited

Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Palestine, State of, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Uganda, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Madagascar, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see James's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile