Will Simcoe's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Will’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Nepali, Thai
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Past jobs include: Giving speeches, developing curriculum...
  • I'm all for it!
  • From Tulsa, OK, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See and do

ABOUT ME

I'm a big fan of people. Also pretty big on listening to & making music. I play the guitar and compose electronic music. I love hiking, backpacking, and other outdoor activities. I'm also down for all things funny or interesting and engaging in any type of creative expression.

PHILOSOPHY

Nothing is 'perfect'. Life is so much easier and more enjoyable if you find ways to appreciate the positive aspects of every person or situation that you encounter while keeping in mind, but not dwelling upon, the negatives that come attached as well. Appreciate everything for what it is.

"Turns out not where but who you're with that really matters" - Dave Matthews (why i love CS)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Lots of surfing and group meetups. Would love to host, but I've mostly either lived in places that don't get much tourist traffic or in small spaces of other people's homes. One of these days...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed:
Sophie in Nantes/Rennes : 2 nights
Julien in Paris: 2 nights
Ali in Lille: 1 night
Thomas in Brussels: 3 nights
Barry in Leiden: 2 nights
Glenn in Cancale: 1 night
Kostas in Athens: 1 night
Manolis in Athens: 1 night
Alex in Rome: 1 night
Massimo in Vicenza: 2 nights
The Quentar Family in Quentar: 3 nights
Bernie in Innsbruck: 5 nights
Simon in München: 5 nights
Marion in Berlin: 5 nights
David in Nagoya: 5 nights

Hosted:
No one :(
(one day I will live somewhere worth visiting!)

Interests

People, oceans, (live) music, mountains, food, rivers, wine, canyons, beer, lakes, cheese, trees, photography, space, colors, animals, light, Sequoiadendron giganteum, dancing, clouds, adventure sports, you?

  • animals
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • wine
  • cheese
  • beer
  • music
  • electronic music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • sports
  • lakes
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Some of my favorite musical artists: Disco Biscuits, Dave Matthews Band, Sound Tribe Sector Nine, String Cheese Incident, Kanye West, Justice, Boards of Canada, edIT, Bone Thugs N Harmony, Girl Talk, Pnuma Trio, Bela Fleck & the Flecktones, Phish, Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey, Daft Punk, Coldplay

Don't watch many movies (favorite is probably March of the Penguins), but a few TV shows: Simpsons, Seinfeld, Family Guy, 30 Rock, The Office (American), Futurama, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Planet Earth, and most anything on Discovery or Travel Channel

Favorite Books: Calvin & Hobbes, Slaughterhouse Five, Les Miserables, A Clockwork Orange, The Giver, A Short History of Nearly Everything, The Giving Tree, Into the Wild, Winnie the Pooh...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I taught young children about the concept of interdependence/interconnectedness in a national park.

Teach, Learn, Share

Looking to learn all things local...well anything at all really...

Oh and I especially love to taste new cuisine...I'll try anything at least twice...as long as it's not endangered!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Nepal, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Will’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups