Alwyn Paterson

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alwyn’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Retired, small part time job, planning trips
  • tertiary degrdd
  • From Hamilton
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


To find interesting walks, and cycle routes and do as many activities before my hip, knees or ankles pack up


I'm friendly, but slightly reserved. I keep my own counsel. I'm generous, but careful, as at 65 I've seen and experienced a lot of scenarios. I really enjoy meeting new people, and after being a home stay host for 5 years, to overseas ESOL students, I like discovering and absorbing different cultural norms. Love my kids and grand kids to bits!


The older I get the more I realise I don't know, however the 2 attitudes I am focusing on for 2012, are to respect everyone, respect other people's ideas that are different to mine, and to show graciousness as much as I can

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Haven't participated yet, but am keen to host overseas travellers


Reading other peoples experiences


Read a lot, at least three books at a time, confusing I know. Have a dream of owning a motor home and travelling around NZ, then Australia, then.. who knows, so read a lot of travel books and blogs.Love puzzles, - brain teaser, sudoku etc. Like growing things, especially my own vegies.
Like BBC drama (Downton Abbey) not too fussed on TV violence, viewing it doesn't add value to my life!

Music, Movies, and Books

I like country music, as I feel it describes the culture of the time, I'm also a fan of gospel music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Attending a Highland "sing-sing" in Papua New Guinea.
Recently flying to Great Barrier Island in the Hauraki Gulf in a small plane with stupendous views on a bright sunny cloudless day.
Viewing the sun colouring the top of Mount Cook with a brilliant pink light - at dusk recently during a cycle trip on the Tekapo canals.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can make really good jam!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Fiji, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Solomon Islands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea

Join Couchsurfing to see Alwyn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups