Elaine  Simer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elaine ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 44 References 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 72, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Hostel Owner, retired
  • Some college
  • From San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To stay healthy and active for at least twenty more years.

ABOUT ME

I am a liberal democrat, avid recycler, belong to one of the largest and most active Unitarian Universalist Churches in the US (Portland, Oregon).

Owned Hostel Obispo in San Luis Obispo for twenty years. Now retired, I miss the constant stream of visitors, especially those from other countries, coming through my door.

PHILOSOPHY

Hmmm, this will require more time than I have now....

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As a host and as traveler.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I grew up in a large family, and I owned and lived in a hostel for twenty years. Communal living comes naturally to me. I enjoy sharing my home with others and seeing how other people live in their own homes.

I enjoy couchsurfing, both as a host and as a guest, because I like getting to know interesting people in their own environment, which is more important to me than giving or receiving a free place to stay. I host only those who have a completely-filled out profile, including references (if you haven't couchsurfed before, please furnish references from friends or relatives).

If you want to stay with me, please send a short note of introduction, telling me a little bit about who you are and why you would like to meet me. And please read my profile so you know a bit about who I am.

Last-minute requests will be considered, but I generally require at least two days notice to receive company.

Interests

I'm an active senior with relentless enthusiasm and curiosity about the world around us. I enjoy traveling, hiking, cycling, taking long walks, contra dancing, music, playing cards, and sharing life experiences with friends new and old.

Eating well is important to me. I try to eat local and organic, mostly plant-based, but eat meat as well. I look forward to eating regional food wherever I happen to be.

  • dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • last minute travel

Music, Movies, and Books

Eilen Jewell, a young singer-songwriter from Idaho, is on my CD player right now. Amy Winehouse was singing to me a few minutes before. Favorite authors are Barbara Kingsolver and Bill Bryson. I enjoy books about travel and other cultures, currently reading "Translated Woman" by Ruth Behar. Just saw the documentary "Man on a Wire" and thoroughly enjoyed it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A few years ago I rode in Bike New York, a 45-mile cycle tour of the five boroughs of NYC. Seeing so many famous sites at 10 miles an hour through the course of one day was truly awesome.

Three years ago I rode my bike about 125 miles along the Canal du Midi in France.

I had the honor and privilege of taking care of my grandson Aydin from the time he was two months old, while his mother finished graduate school. He was with me for about 30 hours a week, and I treasured every minute of it. He is in preschool now, and I miss having that time with him (although we still see him several times a week).

Teach, Learn, Share

Although I have many practical life skills, I'm not especially good at anything besides cooking, gardening, and working on my house and yard. I must have been good at raising kids, as my offspring have turned out to be wonderful human beings.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Chopping vegetables and cooking together is great fun, and if you invite me into your home, I will happily cook a meal for you, even furnishing the food.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Norway, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Elaine ’s full profile. It’s free!