Heike Schreiber's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heike’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 32 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • Master of Education, Mathematician
  • From Berlin, Berlin, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


My current mission is to continue "postponing real life"! 😅
I always liked to travel... but since a little while, I am living a - I guess you can call it that way - "proper travel life".... last year, I went to Thailand and New Zealand for 2.5 months.... now, I just got back from a 10 months trip to America starting in South America (from Colombia to Patagonia), then going to the Pacific Northwest in the States and ending off in the Rockies in Canada... I don't like to plan my travels too much ahead, I just follow where the way leads me.... :)
Now, it's time to find the next destination for end of this year... any advice?!? 😋

Traveling helps so much to see the beauty in humans! I have met so many amazing, warmhearted, friendly and helpful people along the way without whom my trips wouldn't have been the way they were!
I hope to be able to give back some of this good spirit to other travels! Let's spread the positivity amongst the world and let's help to make it a happy place full of smiles and good vibes! 😊😊😊


I'm originally from Berlin... I moved to Potsdam for my studies (of mathematics and sports/PE) which I personally like better than Berlin! It's just a sweet small city where you can bike around and don't have to take public transport for an hour.... but I can see why Berlin is a fun city to visit - so don't get me wrong! 😜
During my studies, I went abroad three times (yes, I wasn't in a rush.... yes, I enjoyed my student times... yes, I studied for quite a while 😅): 1 year in Grenoble, France, 1 year in Santa Barbara, California, 1/2 year in Cape Town, South Africa. I spent the most amazing time living in those places and got truly infected with the travel bug...... 😱 I want to get to know the whole world - and the people living in it!
Therefore, CS is a really good (I almost think the best) possibility!! 😊

I'm really active and I love the outdoors and pretty much every kind of outdoor activity (hiking, climbing, all water sports, all winter sports, ...) but I also like to have some relaxing days at the beach without doing much... But only for a little while... soon after, I need to be active again! 😉
I'm open for everything (theater, musical, cinema, SPORTS!!! ...)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing creates simply the best community ever!!! I started using it a while ago (like 8 years?!), but only a couple of times.... over the time - especially when my excessive travel life started - I surfed more and more and fell in love with it even more after every experience I had! Everyone was always so nice and friendly and helpful!!! The concept of couchsurfing is just amazing! Helping others out with a couch and tips about the area; spending time together with an initially stranger, but very soon a friend; sharing experiences and meals; getting to know different cultures and cuisines.... I love everything about it! I have met sooo many good people here!!!

Since I traveled a lot, I couldn't host much.... I hope to now have the opportunity to give some of that good spirit back to the traveler community out there! I want to welcome others as warm as I always was welcomed in the foreign countries!


I'm really interested in the outdoors and sports of all kind (Badminton, skiing, snowboarding, climbing, jogging, ....) as well as meeting my friends, laughing, drinking wine, going out and cooking... I like to get to know people and cultures and hobbies from all over the world and speak different languages!

  • theater
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • camping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • badminton
  • mathematics
  • volunteering
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • vanlife
  • free camping

Music, Movies, and Books

I like to read, but I don't take much time to do so....
Books which I really liked are: "The girl with the Dragon Tattoo", "Der Alchimist" (Paulo Coelho), "Et si c'etait vrai" (Marc Levi), "Der Drachenläufer"/ "The kite runner" (Khaled Hosseini), "Nicht ohne meine Tochter"/"Not without my daughter" (Betty Mahmoody), ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing thing?!?!? ONE???? That's hard.... let's list a couple:

- studying abroad 3 times
- travel as a single female and seeing the beauty in it
- climbing the 6000 m high mountain Huayna Potosi in Bolivia
- seeing the sunrise at Fitz Roy in El Chalten
- doing the o-circuit in Torres del Paine
- swimming in a f*** cold glacier lake and climbing on an iceberg
- living Vanlife in New Zealand, US and Canada 😍

..... and so much more!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can offer to share my life with you... I'm happy to include you in activities of my daily life like going for a run, playing Badminton, cooking, introducing you to my friends, ....
For me traveling is mostly about getting to know the culture and the daily life of others (outside of work)... that's why I prefer to experience that instead of going sightseeing every day... but that's just me! 😜 And that doesn't mean that we have to stuck together 24h a day 😂 I'm totally fine exploring a new place on my own and letting you explore it on your own!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook, I can bring wine or beer, I can share travel stories, I can listen, I can laugh, I can join you if you want to be joined and I can do my own things if you want your own space, I can make friendship bracelets for you (I just learned it 2 months ago on my last trip 😂 somehow I missed that as a kid), I can take you on a run/bike ride/hike/for a swim, I can give travel advice for certain regions, I can teach German or practice your English or French, I can sew on a button ...... or much more what I can't think of right now! 😋

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, South Africa, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Heike’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups