Logo orange

Zhana Vrangalova

New York, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zhana's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 32 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Macedonian, Serbo-Croatian; learning Albanian, Bulgarian, German, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • I study sexuality and health
  • Cornell University PhD
  • From Skopje, Macedonia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy every moment...

ABOUT ME

As extroverted as they come, addicted to novelty, and surprisingly sane against all odds.

Born and raised in the capital of Macedonia. Moved to the US in '06 for my PhD in developmental psychology at Cornell University. Currently an adjunct professor at New York University.

I work hard and play hard. And try to travel as much as I can.

Haven't owned a TV since 2005.

I fully enjoy life, one day at a time.

*Please refrain from sending unsolicited dating/sex spam messages, I WILL report you as dating spam.*

PHILOSOPHY

The world is not to be narrowed till it will go into the understanding... but the understanding is to be expanded till it can take in the world. - Francis Bacon

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host as much as I can, whenever I can.

I try to couchsurf whenever I travel...

I talk about CSing to whomever will listen :)

I even did a study on CSing! (haven't published the data yet)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Before becoming a member of CS, I'd traveled extensively around Europe and most of those trips involved a form of couchsurfing - staying with friends or friends of friends. Since becoming a member, I've surfed and hosted many times and had nothing but positive experiences with all my hosts and guests.

Basically, I hate hotels, not just because they cost money, but also because they're sterile and impersonal. It's so much nicer to stay with a real person, see how people live in the place you're visiting, have someone show you around...

I hate being a tourist. I love being a traveler. CSing allows me to be a traveler instead of a tourist. And that's something money can't buy.

Interests

I love my work, so I spend most of my time doing research and writing. About sex. (How could you not love it?). You can check out some of my writing on my Psychology Today blog: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/strictly-casual

When I'm not doing that, I'm most likely: - Partying all-night - mostly Burning Man parties with EDM (electronic dance music); - Doing adventure sports - rock climbing, scuba diving, surfing, snow boarding, aerial silks; or - Ehm, playing.

Music, Movies & Books

MUSIC: - At home: jazz, classical or chill-out music; - For partying: electro, minimal, techno, deep tech-house.

MOVIES: too many. Here're some of my favorite directors instead: Takeshi Kitano, Andrej Tarkovski, Terry Gilliam, Gaspar Noe, Frederico Fellini, Akira Kurosawa, Milcho Manchevski, Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Emir Kusturica, Wong Kar Wai, Ki-duk Kim, Pier Paolo Pasolini, Francois Truffaut, Fritz Lang, Vittorio de Sica, Michelangelo Antonioni, Bernardo Bertolucci, Steve Buscemi...

BOOKS: Also too many, but one of my all time favorites is the Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I read a lot of non-fiction too, from politics, to language, to genetics...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

There are way too many. Here's a couple of highlights: - Burning Man, Black Rock City, Nevada, US. It's one of the world's wonders. Words cannot describe it. You need to go and experience it for yourself. - Standing on top of a pizza-box-sized rock (Ancient Art, Fisher Towers) 1,500ft off the ground overlooking the Moab desert. (see pix) - Scuba diving with whale sharks off of Isla Coiba in Panama.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a bunch of languages if you have the desire and time to learn.

I can also teach you how to party for days, if there happens to be the right party around.

And I can definitely tell you a thing or two about research on sexuality, non-monogamy, and kink.

Always eager to learn a new adventure sport and improve on the ones I already know!

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Italy, Macedonia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Zhana's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile