SOLANGE_F's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SOLANGE_F’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 35 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Marketing
  • University
  • From Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, grew up in Auckland, NZ
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Continue travelling, and meet heaps of interesting people!

ABOUT ME

PLEASE READ BEFORE CONTACT: I am not hosting currently - please contact only for catch ups, not for a couch. Thanks!

I love to travel, I love seeing different cultures, places and people. When I am not travelling, I am planning my next trip. I tend to take short, intense trips but in 2010 I took a 7-month trip in South America, Europe, USA and Canada. I've just moved to Sydney, Australia.

PHILOSOPHY

Most of our conflicts come from making assumptions about other people and a fear of putting a foot wrong in certain situations. NEVER make assumptions and always go with your gut.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I enjoy meeting travellers and showing them a bit of the city, maybe over a glass of wine or a coffee!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted a few people now, and have stayed with a one overseas but I prefer meeting up as I'm not able to host.

A great CS memory for me is when my boyfriend and I met a CSer in Ushuaia, Argentina for a tea and a chat. He'd written a book about his experiences walking in the wilderness of Tierra del Fuego and it was so cool to be able to talk about his trips.

visited 33 states (14.6%)Create your own visited map of The World

Interests

I enjoy good food, wine and conversation. I enjoy learning about almost everything, and I love having fun with friends. I love dogs, dancing to great music, taking and looking at black and white photography and eating Japanese food. Or most foods, for that matter!

  • dogs
  • books
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • coffee
  • japanese food
  • walking
  • traveling
  • music
  • rock climbing
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: The Alchemist, Animal Farm, Sophie's World, 1984, Lord of the Flies, Five People You Meet in Heaven, The Life of Pi, anything by Kurt Vonnegut, Diana Gabaldon's Cross Stitch series (one of my motivations to see Scotland!) anything by Bryce Courtenay, Louis Theroux's The Call of the Weird....so many more books that I have enjoyed....

Movies: A lot of arthouse/foreign films like Amelie, The Diving Bell & The Butterfly, Life is Beautiful, Pan's Labyrinth, The Science of Sleep, Black Book. Also enjoyed the Back to the Future series, Memento, Frequency, Finding Nemo, The Fountain, Walk the Line, Sin City, The Shawshank Redemption and of course, Forrest Gump.

Music: The Clash, local Kiwi music like Fat Freddy's Drop and The Black Seeds, U2, 50's rock'n'roll, Michael Jackson, drum n bass, Johnny Cash, Fleetwood Mac, The Doors, Pink Floyd, modern pop (but only the good stuff).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The temples at Angkor Wat at dawn, climbing the Great Wall of China, patrolling the beach to protect turtles from poachers during the night in Costa Rica, feeding elephants at a sanctuary in Thailand, standing at Culloden Battlefield in Scotland, watching the sun rise over Bolivia's Salar de Uyuni.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a few travel tips to share, can bake a pretty mean carrot cake and chocolate cake. I can also teach you the basics of photography if you're a beginner.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belize, Bolivia, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see SOLANGE_F’s full profile. It’s free!