Sonia Gupta's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 8% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sonia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Marketing Professional
  • Masters (Marketing)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*** Not accepting guests at the moment. ***

Hello there!

I am Sonia, a Marketing professional by day, a traveller by heart.
I like to listen, learn, explore, share, and I love to make people laugh!
As a child, I grew up travelling all over India, changing 5 different schools, exploring far corners of the home country (India), just trying to keep up with my many friends and some books. But this experience made me see and appreciate the art of cultures, conventions, and languages. After conquering my homeland, I am, now, here to conquer the world!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love travelling. It is that one hobby that keeps the soul loving and living. I am here to offer a couch to someone willing to share beautiful stories about themselves, their culture, their travel and I hope I can find one too. :)

Interests

I want to know people from across the world: their cultures, languages, cuisines.
I like to travel places for this. But when not travelling, hearing from someone about their country and culture is the next best thing! Also, it preps you for your next travel! ;)
I love music and I enjoy dancing (to both Bollywood and English songs). While travelling, I try to find nice lounges and clubs to discover local music.
When in a new place, I try to learn the language of the place, often catching phrases from the locals. And trust you me, people love it when you feel like one of them!

  • dogs
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: RnB, Hip Hop, Jazz, Soul, Bollywood
Movies: Romantic, Drama, Horror, Adventure, Sci-fi
Books: Fiction, Thriller

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recently learned hitch-hiking. Finally got over my fear and I am so looking forward to adventures outside the zone of "comfort travel." :)
Second thing: On one of my trekking trips to a mountain top, I mistakenly trespassed on a huge farmland, chased a bunch of cows, got almost chased by a watch-dog, narrowly escaped while running across the field and finally jumped over the fence to safety. What a day! Still makes me laugh hard.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooking, eating (yum!), dancing, writing, partying till dawn, your language: literally I am up for anything one is willing to share. I'm open-minded in that regard and always looking forward to new things!
PS - They say I am good at cooking and sharing a sense of humour. :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

A couch, warm place to share stories over a cup of "chai", potential to make you laugh hard!
At the moment, I live in Dubai, UAE. I can show you around the city: the day-time tourist places and souqs, the night-time clubs, and great eateries. Yum!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Jordan, Netherlands, Oman, Singapore, Spain, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Singapore, United Arab Emirates

Join Couchsurfing to see Sonia’s full profile.

My Groups