Sonia Shah's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sonia’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in French
  • 47, Female
  • Member since 2022
  • teacher
  • University Degree in Modern Languages
  • From Nairobi, Kenya
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a Kenya Indian ..young at heart and lived in several countries. I speak 6 languages - some fluently and some just to get by. I left Kenya when I was 18, moved to the UK for many years and then to Saudi Arabia for over 5 years to teach English. I traveled around South American for 2 years some time back and now travelling around Africa for some years too.

I love the outdoors, adventure, into spirituality and always curious about the unknown. I've collected crazy stories around the world..from getting detained by the army in Lebanese Palestinian Camp, visited dealers in South American prisons , being detained in the red zone in the very north of Mozambique, managed to find a way to be legally and illegally in both Zambia and Congo at the same time, became part of a sailing crew all the way from the Galapagos islands to the Pacific for 3 weeks, getting lost in a Macedonian forest and having to spend the night there unexpectedly with no tent, very little water and food and enduring the cold uncomfortably until daylight broke and of course plenty of adventures around Saudi Arabia and so much more.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am here to meet locals or expats who live in the countries I wish to visit and know more about the culture , mindset, history and experience off the beaten track places if possible


  • wine
  • hiking
  • nature
  • adventure
  • spirituality
  • diving
  • outdoors
  • law of attraction
  • paranormal
  • restaurants

Music, Movies, and Books

I love Afro house music, world music from African to Indian to Latin and Arabic

Favourite books: The Kite Runner , The Book Thief, Shantaram
Favourite Movie: Amelie, 21, Green Mile

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I manged to survive Saudi Arabia for over 5 years and accumulated lots of insane stories and last year I climbed Mount Kenya

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to learn as much as possible about the places I visit and the people and their way of life and I can share my experiences having lived in various parts of the world.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My insane adventures and a bottle of wine if need be and advise on countries i have visited with my host if they wish to visit them

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Chile, Colombia, Djibouti, Ecuador, France, Italy, Kosovo, Macedonia, Malawi, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Peru, Réunion, Spain, Tanzania, Uganda, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Kenya, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sonia’s full profile.