Sonja's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sonja’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 51 References 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning French, Italian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • teaching
  • I learn from people, places and books
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

★NOT HOSTING ANYMORE RIGHT NOW ★

Once there was a princess who had no kingdom. She had dainty hands though, and an affinity for languages and blueberries. Every day, the princess would wander around, looking for her kingdom. She travelled as far as India and over the sea to the Wild West. She met kings and queens of the most peculiar realms and she heard languages she never dared to dream of. But however much she was looking for her kingdom, she couldn't find it.
One day, when she was on a far away island, she met a jester, who was wearing an awfully attractive hat and could talk about wondrous things and brush his teeth with his left hand. She fell in love in the blink of an eye and let him hold her dainty hands. And since the jester did not have his own kingdom either - as jesters seldom do - and was far away from his home too, they decided to instead stay on the very island where they had met. Kingdomless and happy.

And so we did. At least for a year, when I lived in Cambridge with my jester. Then I went back to Switzerland to finish my studies and teach some eleven year old mischiefs how to hopefully survive in our school system. And now I am travelling South America before returning to the UK with the handsome jester in winter. That is the story so far... I can't wait for the happily ever after part.

🐚

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to look back at my life when I'm old and feel that I haven't missed out anything when I was younger. For me couchsurfing is one way to achieve that .

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I spent a good deal of my time in Cambridge with the local CS crowd and found many friends there. I've surfed couches with fabulous hosts in England, Italy, the US, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Colombia, Venezuela and Falafel land.
I also hosted a few people in 2015 and 2016 in Switzerland. I had guests from Brasil(2), the US(3), Canada(5), Malaysia, Mexico, England, Germany, the Netherlands(2), Thailand, Switzerland, Australia, Argentina, Honduras, Austria and Belgium.

btw, the map of CS experiences on the smartphone app is a joke. Don't believe it. It's a brazen lie. It's evil.

Interests

LONDON - Londoners, do get in touch!
human connection
travelling (surprise, surprise)
having conversations that go beyond the usual,
acting in plays,
drawing,
singing out loud and off tune when I am cycling through town,
people who can hold a conversation without ever touching their smartphone,
blueberries,
people who are willing to listen - and people who ask questions in the first place
watching theatre,
picture books,
accents,
contact improvisation,
going out and dancing foolishly, especially to Balkan music,
eating dark chocolate,
singing and harmonising with my soul sister,
the shape, colour and taste of aubergines,
walking barefoot in summer,
doodling portraits on my university documents,
dancing Swing with my love,
blowing soap bubbles,
watching people at train stations,
wrapping gifts,
cooking and baking,
going to concerts,
swimming,
babies and toddlers,
life drawing,

and: discussing about society, literature, travelling experiences, happiness, veganism, education, family, theatre, healthy living or the environment

Music, Movies, and Books

I appreciate music that is simple and direct and often opt for a guitar and a voice over polished arrangements. A glimpse into my current playlist: Asaf Avidan, Paolo Nutini, Angus and Julia Stone, Pink Floyd, The Zombies, The Civil Wars, Massive Attack, Chet Baker, Eddie Vedder, Rising Appalachia - and of course my all time fovourite: Tom Waits!

I enjoy Sixties and Seventies sound, I love Folk, Indie, World, Swing, Reggae, Psychedelic, Grunge, Jazz, Downtempo, Trip Hop, Balkan Folk. I also love music that sounds like it was written by a terribly troubled soul or feels like it's fragile enough to break by the smallest eager movement, …and I have this weakness for a certain type of cheesy Bollywood songs. *sigh* what a single journey can do to you...

I love reading, and I don't read nearly as much as I would like to. My absolute favourite book is Arundhati Roy's "God Of Small Things" an Indian author who wrote the probably most touching story ever told in the most beautiful language.

Other than that I love illustrated books and children's books. (http://www.amazon.com/The-Princess-Who-Had-Kingdom/dp/0807566306)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Teaching Swiss traditional folk dance in India - yeah, true story.

Staying in a Hare Krishna community in Colombia and learning from the Indigenous who visit that place - obvious, right?

Teach, Learn, Share

I can make an epic Origami crane, and I'd be most delighted to pass on my precious knowlede. I am also very good at creating chaos in my room within a possibly record-breaking amount of time after cleaning it.

I would love to learn some Spanish or practice my rusty Italian. And I am very interested in contact improv.

None of that is your business? Never mind. People always learn from eachother when they meet. And those things MIGHT even exceed the importance of an Origami Crane...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Swiss chocolate (at least if I come straight from Switzerland).
Stories.
My wonder about the bizarre species I'm part of.
Gratitude.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Palestine, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Wales

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Sonja’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups