Sophie Gronier's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.


  • 2 references
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2022
  • Energy engineer
  • Master in Conventional and Renewable Energies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there !

I m a French and Brasilian female engineer, working in the energy field in France. I am used to travel since I was a kid, and I love it ! I like to learn new languages, discover new country, meet amazing people and do a lot of activities : sports (surf for the past 3 years for example), dances (sala, rock n roll, waltz ...), music (violin), reading and much more.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have planned a 6 month travel in Central and South America, and I would love to meet local people to learn about their culture, their cities, discover local spots and not just the turistic ones. I travel alone so I would enjoy having some friends from time to time to share a meal or a drink, or visit your favorites places :) !


  • cooking
  • reading
  • sports
  • surf
  • hikking
  • dances

Music, Movies, and Books

I like many different kinds of musics, so it would be hard to pick just one ! Maybe classical music (as I played the violin for 15 years), latin music (brasilian, salsa), french songs and popular pop songs.

I like movies that are inspired from true stories (Imitation Game for example), or romantic ones (Bridget Jones Diary ahaha). I also like SF and fantasy (Lord of the rings, Game of Throne, etc.).

I m a big fan of Tolkien, and classical literature (Victor Hugo, Balzac, Charlotte Brontë, Dovtoieski). But I enjoy as well reading Harry Potter.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spend 3 weeks with 3 girlfriends in Vietnam, and it was a fabulous trip ! We went to remote places, where sometimes people didn't speak english, and we try to communicate by drawing (some of my friends are Art Teacher, it helps !). It was a wonderful country with lovely people, and I definitely recommend it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to speak spanish during my next trip. I learn it at school, but I also want to understand the jokes and the slang. And if someone wants to learn a bit of french with me, I will be glad to do it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would like to exchange with the hosts : their culture, their hobbies, their favorite places in the city, any good restaurant as well (I love to eat). It would be nice also to lear some local recipes, and why not cook together ?!

Countries I’ve Visited

Costa Rica, Cuba, England, Greece, Guadeloupe, Ireland, Italy, Martinique, Myanmar, Portugal, Réunion, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, Oman

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.