Sophie Walters's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • No occupation listed
  • University of British Columbia (Double BA in Linguistics ...
  • From Portland, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Language revitalization in Chiapas

ABOUT
I (Sophie) am an avid language enthusiast inspired by linguistic activism, language documentation and socio-phonetic research.

I love everything about food (including growing it) and am inspired by many gastronomies of the world. I love to cook and am happy to cook for anyone who hosts me.

I spent the past 4 years living in Vancouver B.C. where I went to University and am now traveling for several years. I love music and radio and one day dream of starting my own radio station that gives voice to many language communities.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that we understand the world (to a certain extent) through the language we express it with. Language shapes our worldview and allows us to share it with others.

I believe linguistic diversity is the key to preserving cultural diversity in its boldest most beautiful way. I live my life to continue to protect this diversity and teach others about its importance. I want to see, feel, touch, experience everything I can to enrich my understanding of the world. Although it may seem naive I think people are generally good and that everyone has something different to contribute.

Learn to love yourself so that you can love others completely. Be respectful, kind, giving, generous, and mindful. Mindfulness to me is one of the most centering and important characteristics a person can have.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Spain, Mexico, Panama, Colombia, Argentina.

Interests

Food, drink, hiking, history, travel, language, music etc.

  • beauty
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • anthropology
  • history
  • political science
  • psychology
  • science
  • sociology

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My exchange in Spain at 16 and backpacking europe at 19 allowed me to meet such a diverse array of people and experience so much generosity, love and beauty.

At 15 I attended a high-altitude training camp for cross country running where I completed "Big Day" a 27 mile run at 9000 ft elevation.

Avid skier and hiker, absolutely in love with Whistler, Squamish (the Chief) and everything B.C.

Bald Eagles catching salmon in the Pacific Northwest.

Bears in the wild, the Grand Canyon, road tripped from Alaska through the Yukon and Haida Gwaii.

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/sophie.walters.37

Teach, Learn, Share

Can discuss and sort of linguistics/language related issues. Sociology, environmental science, gender and queer studies, psychology, political science, anthropology and history. First Nations!

Would love to learn more history and oral histories always!

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Mexico, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!