Sophie Compagnon's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 165 references 150 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Administration
  • Master in french litterature
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To take another sabbatical to travel and see the world !
But for now and in the near future, enjoy life every day !! All its single moments and all its little things

ABOUT ME

Hi, I'm Sophie, I'm 48 years old, I'm French and few years ago I took some time off at my job, and spent one year and a half in Canada (Quebec), with a "Working Holiday Visa"... One of the best decisions I ever took in my life !!!
And I discovered Couchsurfing there !
I came to Montreal because I already had some friends here and I wanted to live a little bit here, more than for simple holidays, always too short to really know a place and people who live there...
After I came back as a tourist because I wanted to enjoy the summer and all festivals in Montréal and also traveled a few weeks, so I did volunteering for many events and wwoofing, before coming back to Paris about ten years ago.
I'm back to work then (I'm an employment counselor and I took a sabbatical year) now living in Rennes, wonderful Brittany, and I look forward to the next travels... So I hope to do it again, and to live many other times this beautiful experience in another part of the world.
I love travelling, I'm quite simple, pretty talkative I think :-) love laugh and being with my friends, enjoy life, good food, meet new people and talk... Very simple things actually ! According to my friends I'm easy-going and open-minded.
So I think Couchsurfing is very good to meet some locals from the places we want to visit, and talk with them to see these places in a different way, and see the countries through their eyes... This concept is such a great idea !!!
I love visiting new places, but Quebec and Italy do (and will always) have a special place in my heart, and I try to go back there as often as I can, to visit friends !

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy and share, Carpe Diem !!
Be good to everyone (myself included... not always easy)
Go where my dreams take me.... And let magic happen !

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I talk about it !! Some activities/events in my city, languages exchanges. First I only surfed, couldn't host because I hadn't enough space....
Recently moved in a bigger flat, so very happy to be able to, and now have my turn to host !!!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed two weeks in Altlantic Canada, in Florence (Italy) and Andalucia (Spain) then in France too... Great !!
Beautiful meetings and adventure... I loved this way to travel, I plan to do it again in Europe and in Paris too, with hosting travelers, as I have now little more space.

Interests

Music !!! I love to listen to music and I also play the clarinet and the saxophone. I used to play clarinet and then alto saxophone in a Latin-America Brass-band, but it's finished because we weren't enough any more... Now I play tenor saxophone in a Klezmer-Balkans band, and I played clarinet in a oriental music group. I love it : I really love this kind of music and playing is important for me, I miss it if I don't ! I played also traditional music (folk) from Brittany and center of France.
And movies !!! Going to the cinema (mostly) or watching them at home, sometimes.
I love movies from all over the world, but old or independant movies are my favorites ; and performing arts - specially theater - can't live without. Also going to the circus, and sometimes to the opera.
FOOD. Share good food and big conversations with old friends or new people I've just met. Food from all over the world, specially typical food of each country I visit.

  • arts
  • poetry
  • singing
  • theater
  • street art
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dining
  • chocolate
  • walking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • opera
  • languages
  • law
  • volunteering
  • food
  • cinema
  • people
  • markets
  • friendship
  • peace

Music, Movies, and Books

I love traditional and classical music : Bach, Haendel, Purcell, Pergolesi, Mozart, Schubert, Brahms, Ravel, Smetana, Mussorgsky, Mendelsohn, Berlioz... and also Loreena McKennitt, Giora Feidman, Yom, Brel, Barbara, Keith Jarrett, Ibrahim Maalouf, Anouar Brahem... and many others not famous at all.
I enjoy watching independent movies from all over the world. P. Almodovar, W. Allen, Kurosawa, Kore-Eda, Naomi Kawase, Ken Loach (one of the best !!), Mike Leigh, Stephen Frears, Amos Gitai, Tony Gatlif, Asghar Farhadi, Fatih Akin, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Marcel Carné, but also Bollywood...
Traditional music and songs, and in general all the culture of other countries are very interesting for me !!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Trekking in Nepal was awesome ! Also walking and sleeping under the stars in the desert of Wadi Rum in Jordan !
Watching the sunrise on the Piton des Neiges (Reunion Island, highest mountain in the Indian Ocean) was pretty awesome too.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you clarinet or saxophone, and French of course
And from you, I could learn to cook (simple recipes) :-) or many other things, whatever... I'm very open !
I can share : my home ! And many little things, aperitive/dinner and conversation if I'm available, maybe more if I have more time (if I don't work)

What I Can Share with Hosts

A Couchsurfing experience !!
Lots of good energies. Smiles.
TALK !!! Food too, a good meal or a drink-aperitive.
Walks and visits, walking around and showing you my district, if I have more time (if I don't work). I can walk a lot !

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Martinique, Morocco, Nepal, Portugal, Réunion, Spain, Turkey, Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.

My Groups