Soraya Smith

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 31 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Soraya’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Travel Agent
  • Graduated in BSc Psychology
  • From Nottinghamshire, England
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To travel the world! Meet some cool people along the way, or to join me!


2013 was without a doubt the best year of my life, spending the whole year travelling. After visiting 19 countries over 5 continents, I can truly say the world is a wonderful place!

My excitement to see the world, experience more cultures and meet amazing new people is always ongoing. I have no plans to stop travelling any time soon, I just have to take breaks in between to save some more money! Saying that, travelling on a budget is part of the experience. It means you travel more like a local, and really learn a lot and test yourself.

I have just spent the past 2 years living, working and travelling within Australia. This has been incredible! It has been amazing to truly emerge myself in another lifestyle, and to make some life-long friends in the process. After seeing everything I wish to see and driving over 20,000km around this wonderful country, it is now time to start travelling again and see some more new places.

I am now about to start travelling around Asia with my boyfriend, Paul. He is a Dutch musician and I am very excited to introduce him to the world of couchsurfing. He has attended various couchsurfing events in Australia, and is now intrigued to see the great benefits of couchsurfing whilst travelling. He is very chilled out and friendly. He always travels with his guitar so feel free to ask him to play some music for you, or to jam together!

I am a very chilled out, friendly, chatty person. I love to hear other peoples travel and general life stories. I am always keen to get out and about and see more places. I am very easy going, and only really need the basics in life - I am not going to complain if we go out in the rain or get muddy, or I can't do my hair.

I can't stand ignorance or prejudice. I hate to be judgmental. Give everyone a chance - you never know who might surprise you! I don't smoke or do drugs. I have nothing against people that choose to do this, just respect other peoples wishes, and not in my house please.

I love travelling, exploring new places, experiencing new cultures, trying new foods (vegetarian), being at the beach, walking, camping, doing things I haven't done before, taking photos, festivals, talking, suprising people, going on nights out, and chilling out.


Since being away, I have tried to live by the moto "why not", and tried to take advantage of every opportunity that has presented itself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When travelling, I try to stay with local hosts as much as possible. I have also used couchsurfing as a way to meet locals in places I have visited and joined other travellers on day trips whilst travelling somewhere unknown.

Couchsurfing events and meet ups have been an amazing way to meet cool people, and have been especially good in places I have been living, opposed to travelling.


I have stayed with several hosts now on my travels, and it is amazing! Meeting local people has opened a lot of doors and has really helped me experience the way locals live in the places I have visited. It has given me a much more enjoyable experience and allowed me to see places I never would have found without the local knowledge. It is also great to meet people with different backgrounds and to experience part of that - from local foods that they eat, to joining in with their pass times, or just learning about their life and beliefs.

Once I settle down after my travels, I will definitely repay this and host as much as possible!


Travel! My one main interest. I want to meet people from all over the world, learn about their culture, try the local food, and experience as many new things as I possibly can.

Photography. Something I've always loved and have recently been trying to learn more about now I have a proper camera.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've hitch-hiked twice from the UK to Morocco! This was brilliant and helped raise money for charity at the same time! I would love to do more hitch-hiking.. It's definitely the way forward!

Doing a skydive over the Gower Peninsula was also pretty awsome! It was something I never thought I would dare do, but was absolutely stunning and such an adrenaline rush!

Since being away on my travels I have visited the incredible Angkor Wat, swam in the great barrier reef, hiked on the world's fastest moving ice glacier, visited some of the best beaches in the world, completed one of the world's best hikes - the routeburn track, ziplined through the rainforest, got up close and personal with hundreds of animals around Africa, camped in the wild in different Safari Parks, visited the world's second largest canyon, white water rafted the Zambezi river, done a gorge swing over Victoria falls, hiked up an active volcano, biked down Death Road in Bolivia, visited the amazing Uyuni salt flats, swam with Whale Sharks, Manta Rays and Turtles, walked around the base of Uluru, and learnt to surf, as well as seeing many other incredible things and visiting dozens of world heritage sites.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Botswana, Cambodia, Chile, Croatia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya, Laos, Malaysia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Soraya’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups