Hélène Haug's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hélène’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Italian; learning Russian, Swiss German
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Working in a museum in Brussels
  • Phd in medieval literature
  • From Brussels, Brussels, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Linking both Belgium language communities

ABOUT ME

People say I'm a dreamer. Perhaps they are right, all I can say is that I love living new experiences and meeting new people. Even if I can be somewhat shy in certain occasions, I'm usually easy-going, but I'm not good at planning things, and most of all I'm sometimes distracted so that I usually bump into all sorts of problems - I suppose that's to cope with it that I've developped a strong sense of optimism !

PHILOSOPHY

Practical philosophy : "If I had eight hours to chop down a tree, I'd spend six hours sharpening my ax." (Abraham Lincoln)

Inner philosophy : "If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but had'nt love, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal." (St Paul) - And God knows if I love learning languages !

Philosophical philosophy :... for this one I need further studies

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Traveling, hosting

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed in New Mexico, Quebec, France, California, Russia, and it was total fun and kindness !

Now that we have our own place in Ghent, we've been hosting different travellers, we've met so many interesting persons.

Interests

I love spending quality time with my friends, family and my boyfriend, I love taking care of them, and taking care of all sorts of plants and flowers that are growing around me - be they wild or domesticated, I like doing sport (kayak or walking), going out with friends, hearing people laugh, reading, walking under the rain until being completely soaked, then go back home and watch an episode of the Muppets Show...

  • cheese
  • beer
  • walking
  • flowers
  • comics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • kayaking
  • languages
  • trekking

Music, Movies, and Books

Books : My favorites ever are : Marguerite Duras (L'amant,...), Paul Claudel (Le soulier de satin), Vladimir Nabokov (Lolita and most of all Ada), Bernard-Marie Koltès (Dans la solitude des champs de coton)... I grew up with the Tillerman children (Cynthia Voigt) and with Janosh's stories... I really liked The Kite runner by Khaled Hosseini. I like poetry a lot.

Music : I'm a great Leonard Cohen's fan. I also like French poets & singers like the French songwriter Renaud, Francis Cabrel, Vincent Delerm, Benoît Dorémus,... I tend to be exclusive about music and listen again and again to the same albums.

Films : Spanish films by Amenabar or Julio Medem, English comedies (Faulty Tower, Monthy Pythons), Kusturica (Arizona dream), and more than anything : "Brideshead revisited" not the new version but the first one...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being a guest in different horse herder's family yourts in the course of a self guided treck in the mountains of Kirghizstan.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach French, or how to make a good cheese pie with any kind of ingredients. I'd like to learn to play the guitar better... and to speak better Russian, Turkish, German, Spanish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Benin, Canada, France, Georgia, Germany, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Netherlands, Nigeria, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Italy

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Hélène’s full profile. It’s free!