Jesse Taina's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning French, German, Russian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Freelancer
  • MA
  • From Espoo-Helsinki
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

COUCH AVAILABLE TO COOL PEOPLE ONLY / NOT TAKING ANYBODY IN ATM

I am a calm, relaxed guy who sometimes likes to go wild. I enjoy peace and silence and noisy music. I enjoy spending time in a good company but sometimes i just need to be by myself. I kind of like to confuse people, too, sometimes. Whether I do or do not have a sense of humour is arguable, because - since I'm a Finn - I have no sense of irony. I'm pretty much a straight to the point kind of guy who rarely gets sidetracked.

I studied English philology as my major and general linguistics and general phonetics as minors at the university of Helsinki.

MUSIC

I would like to say that I am a musician. I play guitar, which is quite the passion for me. As music is altogether. Being creative and coming up with my own riffs and songs is one of the best things there is! I also like to let out all kinds of strange sounds from my mouth - something that by someone could possibly also be referred to as singing. So, just give me a guitar and I'll entertain you!

I'm interested in all kinds of music but I prefer to listen to the kind that is good. My collection's mostly metal but what I end up listening most of the time nowadays is other than metal. I'm pretty much interested in all sorts of music and I'm always open to new kinds of things.

LANGUAGES

I'm a language nerd, I have to admit. I really like details in languages, especially phonetic stuff. The way languages sound, the way sounds are produced and words pronounced. I can talk about languages for ages :) I don't speak that many languages yet - not fluently anyways - but I _am_ quite interested in learning new languages. The problem is that I'm just quite lazy. At the moment I thought I'd try to strengthen the skills in the languages that I already know before starting to study any new one.

I also like to teach stuff, like Finnish and English and playing guitar.

PHILOSOPHY

I don't have an established philosophy and my look on life is constantly changing as I experience more. At the moment I could say that I'm pretty much a pragmatic hedonist that understands that many other people have hedonistic values as well. I'm a moral relativist that doesn't believe in absolute good or evil or other absolutes. I'm not fond of extremism or extreme thinking since it tends to be narrow-minded, not taking into account people's different backgrounds and varying points of view etc. My thinking and worldview has been influenced by (secular) buddhist thinking.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Nice way to meet interesting people both at home and elsewhere. And c'mon, let's be honest, it's cheaper than hotels. Hotels are quite boring too when you compare them to the homes of people who actually live in the town you're staying in.

Interests

Music, languages, people, beer, (fantasy) books, computer games, board games, jogging, cycling, walking (especially in forests), movies, cooking, learning new stuff.

  • books
  • singing
  • cooking
  • beer
  • walking
  • drinking
  • movies
  • board games
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

[MUSIC:] Devin Townsend, Mayhem, The Cranberries, The Heartburns, Wintersun, Rihanna, Iron Maiden, Jesu, Mogwai, Anneke van Giersbergen, Johnny Cash, Darkthrone, Depeche Mode, Jethro Tull, Bad Religion, Opeth, CMX, Ramones, The Crüxshadows, Star Fucking Hipsters, und so weiter.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Played live with a band!

Shamelessly advertising my own band, check us out if you're into beer drinking and hellraising!

Angel Sword at angelsword.bandcamp.com (Also available on Spotify)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm able and eager to teach people whatever I can about playing guitar. Also about the languages that I know (that is, Finnish, Swedish, English, German, Spanish). I can also give hints about what music to listen to :)

I'm interested in making comparisons between cultures. I would like to learn about the aspects of different cultures.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Philosophy. Life experiences. Beer.

Or does this question refer to something concrete?

Um, I can share the room (if you don't snore too hard), and even sleep in the same bed if you're not a restless sleeper.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile. It’s free!