Pascal DURAND's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 87% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pascal’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 51 References 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Russian; learning Arabic (North Levantine), Armenian, Chinese, Italian, Serbian
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Wandering teacher, occasional translator
  • Master
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Making my life a great adventure story !

ABOUT ME

Dear couchsurfers, please note :
- I WILL NOT ANSWER THE COPY-PASTE REQUESTS ! I get too many of those...
- If you plan to arrive at 2am or to leave at 5am, you better find a hostel, because normal people sleep at this time :)

I can't imagine my life without traveling, discovering new things and meeting new people. This is the most enjoyable thing I do in my life.
I want to learn and experience as much as I can, always trying to give myself new challenges. I don't like when the things are too easy to get. You learn something when you face difficulty or obstacles !

PHILOSOPHY

"Vse chto ni delaetsia, vse k luchshemu", that can be translated as "Everything happens for the best". No matter what is happening right now...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting and sharing experiences and knowledge with people from all over the world !

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

During my first two years in Syria, my roommates were registered on Couchsurfing and they made me discover it. We've hosted a lot of people from all over the world. And of course, I don't regret these experiences ! After a while, I decided to register on CS. Even if I don't surf someone's couch when traveling, it's great having the opportunity to meet local people through this site.

Interests

Archery and cinema used to be an important part of my life.
Among the simple things, I like making parties at my place, cooking good dishes for my friends and drinking good wine (or whatever else :)) with them.
As I said before, I love traveling. Especially in the Middle East, Caucasus, Russia and Central Asia. People are incredibly hospitable in these areas.
I have also a real passion for learning and teaching languages.
But walking and hiking in the nature is probably the thing I like most.

  • cooking
  • wine
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • archery
  • languages
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

There are too many ! I can't list them all, but here is a small selection :
Books : Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam, Le Petit Prince de Saint Exupéry, Alexis Zorba (Nikos Kazantzaki), Crime and punishment (Dostoievski), Tales of Ordinary Madness (Charles Bukowski), Samarcande (Amin Maalouf)...
Movies : The Party (Blake Edwards), Hana-bi (Takeshi Kitano), Elephant Man (David Lynch), eXistenZ (David Cronenberg), Stalker (Andrei Tarkovski), all the Monty Python movies and so many others...
Music : All the albums of Tom Waits and Leonard Cohen ! Janis Joplin, Dead Can Dance, Anouar Brahem, Léo Ferré, Boris Grebenschikov, Nina Simone, Miles Davis, Stan Getz...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been warmed with the Iranian, Kurdish, Turkish, Arab, Caucasian and Russian incredible hospitality, and I will never forget that ! I don't know if I will be able to return 1/10 of what I got from them, but at least I will try !
Some of crazy things that I have done :
Climbing the mount Aragats (the roof of Armenia), alone and without equipment !
Drinking wine with Georgian people was quite crazy and dangerous as well !!
Swimming in iced water in the middle of Siberian taiga in January !!!
And so on... :)))

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to know how to cook the famous Russian soup called "bortsch" ! In exchange, I can show you how to cook some French dishes :)
Another thing, I wish I could speak Farsi fluently !!!
I have a significant experience of hitchhiking, so I can give some good advices :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Georgia, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Macedonia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Ethiopia, France, Jamaica, Russian Federation, Serbia, Syrian Arab Republic, Ukraine

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Pascal’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups