Sara Rimer's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student- Environmental Engineering
  • Bachelors of Science in engineering and mathematics
  • From Southwest Michigan! (USA)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get to know España!

ABOUT ME

Currently I am a student in Seville, Spain hopefully mastering my Spanish skills. I would like to learn and experience as much about Spain as possible while I am here this semester. I would also like to meet and learn from as many adventurous, intelligent, compassionate, kind and/or enjoyable people as I can while here.

Currently, I am in the process of choosing a graduate school to study at next fall in the United States and possible work toward a PhD in environmental engineering. I would like to work with the issue of water resources engineering and water treatment.

I am young and impressionable and excited to have a fulfilling spring in Spain! :)

PHILOSOPHY

I would just like to contribute to this world as best as I can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to couch surfing. This semester I am hoping to gain a lot of experience with CS and tell others all about it! When I return to the US, I hope I am able to become a host!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been couch surfing throughout Spain this semester. I have met a lot of wonderful people either by surfing their couches or by meeting up with them at couch surfing events. It has been a great experience and has enriched my traveling. Thank you everyone for making my time in Spain so enjoyable!

Interests

My hobbies include traveling (of course!), bike riding (leisurely, not competitively), hiking, dancing, reading, music, dancing, movies, volunteering, knitting, drinking (beer/wine/coffee/tea!), camping, playing basketball, mathematics, and yoga. Since coming to Spain, I have taken on some flamenco and kayaking classes.

I also really just like to learn, academically and leisurely. I like learning about people. places, ideas, things, and myself and other people. I am open to learn about and from anything and anyone!

Finally, I am very interested in humanitarian endeavors. I am most interested in working with the issues of sustainable development (hence, my love of engineering) and women's issues, but am interested in really anything. I have been very involved with Engineers Without Borders-USA. I am also very involved with Alternative Breaks. A wonderful program for college students. I would love to share all about it.

  • books
  • dancing
  • flamenco
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • drinking
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • basketball
  • engineering
  • mathematics
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Singer/songwriter types and international music. Some of my favs are Laura Nyro, Rachael Yamagata, Cat Stevens, Simon and Garfunkel, Sufjan Stevens, Brett Dennen, James Taylor, Judy Collins, Joni Mitchell, Joan Baez, Dixie Chicks, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Santana, Ani Difranco, Bright Eyes, Monsters of Folk, Fiona Apple, The Beatles, Fleetwood Mac, Norah Jones, She & Him, Solange, Mariah Carey, Red Hot Chili Peppers, the Wallflowers, The Swell SEason, The Decemberists, Carla Bruni, Carol King

Books: I am currently reading Ernest Hemmingway. Otherwise I enjoy all types of books. Some recent books that have influenced my thoughts and emotions are "Wild Swans" by Jung Chang and "Three Cups of Tea" by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin. Also, I very much recommend "Half the Sky: Turing Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide" by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I skydived! And I saw the inauguration of President Barack Obama!

Teach, Learn, Share

I really like to learn about everything! Hobbies, travels, music, books, movies, cultures, politics. I am just starting to knit again, and would love to be shown some cool patterns.

As far as what I can offer, I have travelled to many places and have had many unique experiences abroad that I would love to talk about. I am from the US and have travelled to many places within my country. I really like my home state of Michigan and can tell you all about it! I guess see above for everything else I have knowledge about.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Madagascar, Mexico, Russian Federation, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!