Logo orange

Stephan Lechner

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Maybe Accepting Guests

83% response rate · Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 47 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Esperanto, French, Slovene
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • MSc in cognitive science; motor cogn...
  • Philosphy BA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I like to listen and to talk. I'd be glad to hear your stories and to tell you mine.

PHILOSOPHY

The only sin is certainty

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host...
I have an emergency couch...

I want to say it right away so you don't get disappointed: Sometimes I don't write references. Which not at all means that I didn't enjoy your company. It's just I'm lazy in these matters and you have to write the same kinds of stuff over and over again. Sorry.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I mainly host because I haven't started intense travelling yet. That's the plan for the time between finsihing my masters and starting my phd. I tried to surf serveral times on hitchhiking trips but didn't find anybody to share his/her place. Out of that I decided to join the Vienna Last Minute group and was more concentrated on hosting spontaneous people who are really in need of place.

HOSTED in Vienna:

Austia: Virginia / Stephanie
Australia: Richard/ Simon / Izzy & Lachy / Zoe & Tom / Jemma
Brazil: Thomas / Fernanda / Wagner & Breno
Canada: Joel/ Philippe / Jean-Michele
Colombia: David & Luisa
Germany: Moni / Lisa / ? /Lysann & Basti / Claudi & Julian
Greece: Roza
Hungary: Lili & Tomas / Frida & Veto
India: Vishnu / Raj
Israel: Uriel
Lativia: Olga & Jim
Mexico: Gerardo / Diana
Netherlands: Wouter
New Zealand: Karl
Poland: Ewa & Monika / Karolina & Wojtek / Mers & Magda / Micha & Asia & Marta
Portugal: Tatiana & Joao & Filipa
Romania: Ciprian / David / Gabi
Serbia: Ivana & Brane
Singapore: Gera /Xingi
Slovenia: Boza / Djana
Slovakia: Silvia & Matúš
South Korea: Jiyun
Turkey: Zeynep
UK: Jez
US: Amanda + 2 / Ana / Jerome / Erin & Micah / Drew

HOSTED in Ljubljana:

Argentina: Tofi
Austria: Saskia / Xenia
Belgium: Matthieu & Thierry
Brazil: Thiago
Canada: Jemma & Scott
China: Maggie & Sally
Croatia: Andrea & Damir
Czech Republik: Jitka & Christina
France: Marie & Romain / Tom & Gwenaël / Maïté & Nina
Netherlands: Bart & Leon
UK: Marcel & Helen
Poland: Ewa & Eliza
Spain: Javier / Francesc

Hosted:
visited 33 states (14.6%)Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android

Interests

I'm intereted in science. Among the topics I love discussing the most are such as consciousness, language, self-awareness, history and sociology of science and stuff like that.
Although these are some favorites my interests extend to any topic imaginable and I'm always happy to discuss things that don't cross my path so often.

I'm an hitchhiking enthusiast and try to practice it whenever the weahter allows it. I like sports, especially yoga (getting some routine finally) and climbing (no routine :( unfortunately). I'm in love with my bike.

And there are of course music and movies.

Music, Movies & Books

I like to dj different styles of music like ambient, idm, dubstep, garage, funk, new and old jazz.
Check out some of my ambient mixes:
http://www.percussionlab.com/users/cubaktor

To name some:
Amon Tobin, Flying Lotus, Bibio, Explosions in the Sky, Badun, Gold Panda, Ochre, Jaga Jazzist, Miles Davis, Gilles Peterson
I am also a big fan of classical music and try to visit concerts as often as my funds allow it.

Some movies I can recommend:
Garden State, Before Sunrise, The Holy Mountain, A Scanner Darkly, Human Nature, Children of Men, The Sheltering Sky, Whatever Works, Synecdoche New York, A Life Aquatic, Primer, My dinner with André, Enter the Void, Withnail and I

Books I can recommend:
Hesse: "The Glas Bead Game", Huxley: "Island", Murakami: "Kafka on the Shore", Abbott: "Flatland", Yalom: "When Nietzsche Wept", Gaarder: "Sophies World", Chalmers: "The conscious Mind", Durrenmatt: "The Physicists"

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Once I sat in a park and a small girl, maybe 5 years old, rolled by on her scooter when suddently she crashed and smashed into the ground. She ran to her mommy who was sitting on the bench next to me and told her with a suprised look: "I exist" right before she bursted into tears. Witnissing that felt somewhat profound.

Hitchhiking trip from Vienna to Lisboa: over 3500 km

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing music
Sharing stories
Sharing Recipies

I'd like to deepen my programing skills which are VERY rudimentary right now.

Mi volas paroli Esperanton.
Je voudrais parler francais.

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Slovenia

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile