Logo orange

Stephanie Childs

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephanie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Hindi, Portuguese, Sign Language - American
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • I work with a small, volunteer run c...
  • school of life, principal teachers i...
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

loving life... and finding my place in the global justice movement

ABOUT ME

I have lots of energy and love connecting with people, and I like to express my appreciation and enthusiasm for people I love and moments that I really savour. I love Montreal with all of my heart, so much family (birth and chosen) live there, but discovering the world always beckons sooner or later.
Getting around by bike, eating lots of vegetables, going on adventures, listening to and supporting friends and avoiding televisions are pretty important parts of my life. I try to ask myself in difficult situations, "what is the most brave and compassionate course of action I can take?"
Water is my favourite drink, with the small exception of fresh sugar cane juice with lemon and mint (bina chini, bina masala!)
I don't smoke and mostly eat vegetarian / vegan.

PHILOSOPHY

good vibes are where it's at.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We hosted a couple of people at our apartment in Montreal, always great experiences. Life is always pretty busy for me at home so I didn't often get to spend a lot of time with them, but it was great to be able to offer an open space where people could set up for a little while and feel at home away from home.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I´ve been very lucky to have a lot of people host me informally and very generously, I would love to pass on the favour to others

Interests

bicycling, hiking, collective cooking, lakes, mountains, public transportation, exploring, chocolate, living as much as possible while working for money as little as possible, radical and effective social justice and environmental action, community building, intergenerational spaces, dance parties, big snowflakes, urban agriculture, compost, non violent communication, critical mass, generosity and gift economy, urban climbing adventures...

Music, Movies & Books

some favourite authors: milan kundera, arundhati roy (if you've only read the God of Small Things, try checking out her nonfiction, it is incredible), salman rushdie, gabriel garcia marquez, rabindranath tagore, alistair macleod,

music: I can't imagine thinking of all the artists I like but the xx and chico buarque are both blowing my mind right now. Also, if you are one of those people who say that they like "any kind of music but country", you should really move to Montreal and hang out at the Wheel Club (3383 Cavendish) every Monday for a month and then we'll talk.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

held a baby sea turtle in my hand

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn how to do a handstand, play tabla, fold good paper airplanes, and surf. Also if anyone has any bright ideas of how to make the world more just and equitable and joyful, I am always collecting those.

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephanie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile