Stephen Hartigan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 48% response rate
  • Last login 25 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Photographer / Videographer
  • Limerick School of Art and Design
  • From Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi I'm Stephen, I'm an art college graduate. At this stage I'd consider myself somewhat well travelled, having hitched around parts of Europe and solo travelled parts of South East Asia.

I get on with people easily and am respectful. I believe myself to be a very open-minded individual.
I love seeing other cultures, tasting new food and making new friends.
Always looking for music as well, I love to hear the traditional music of a country. I play Guitar and I'm learning the banjo.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For accommodation while traveling and to meet new people and make new friends. I believe meeting local people is the best way to get a sense of the place. Love to hear people's stories and perspective about life.

Interests

Painting is my main interest, with oil paint mainly. My favourite artists are Francis Bacon , Mark Rothko and Egon Schiele. I stick to portraiture and figurative art. Of late I've been driven to photography as I don't have space to practice.

I love MMA and train it regularly, I also jog, bouldering, cycling and like to hike. I also enjoy cooking, especially spicy food!

  • arts
  • books
  • photography
  • cooking
  • chess
  • reading
  • painting
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • boxing
  • philosophy
  • art
  • travelling
  • mma
  • jogging
  • outdoors
  • climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Books
The Master and Margarita, The Idiot, Lolita, Confessions of a Mask, Into the Wild, 7 years in Tibet, Marching Powder, Brothers Karmazov, Love is a dog from Hell etc.
Mainly classical Russian literature.

Music
I like all kinds of music, Irish Trad, Ukrainian folk to Japanese Jazz.
Even punk, rap or classical.

Movies/TV
Love a large variety of genres. Don't care as long as there meaningful. Tarkovsky and Charlie Kaufman are my favorites. Naked(1993), Samasara, Leon, Stalker, Mirror, Possession etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I displayed my work in a gallery and museum.
Worked on an Alpaca farm.
Hitchhiked around parts of Europe.
Cycled the coast of Galway, and parts of Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal, Clare and Limerick.
Travelled by myself for 2½ months around Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach and share anything i know about drawing, painting, photography, guitar, MMA or Irish culture.
I'd love to learn almost anything to be honest :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Clean your house. Cook food. Share what I know about painting. Someone to talk to. Rant to you about Mma. Teach you some guitar. Play some music.
Also can make you art I guess. 😁

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen’s full profile.