Sterre Hulsebosch's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sterre’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Indonesian, Sinhala, Sinhalese
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Primary school teacher
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Dear you, my name is Sterre or Estrella or Stella or Bintang or anything else that translates to 'star'. I am a 23-year-old student from The Netherlands. I am currently finishing my third year of studying towards becoming an International Primary school teacher. Before that, at the age of 17, I took a gap year and traveled through South-East Asia. Working as a teacher in schools and orphanages in several countries led me to this choice. But teaching is not my only passion. Being raised in a family with a love for art and theatre, I did a year in art school before pursuing my dream of becoming a teacher.
When I am not focused on university, I write. I write poems and short stories, letters, cards and possibly soon, I'll write a book. And in-between, I cook and I bake. I have been passionate about both since I was young. Baking cakes, pies, bread, cookies and anything else. Or testing out a new recipe from a foreign cuisine. I am currently taking Indian cooking classes from a dear friend who is teaching me the ins and outs about making curries, chapati, rice and chutney.
And besides all of that I practice yoga, enjoy reading, taking care of plant and visiting the goats in the park near my house.

Also... How do you describe yourself to people you don't know? What would they want to know?
I am a lover of simple things; an early morning sunrise and the feeling of opening a new book, the smell of lavender and seeing plants grow, the sound of rain on a tent and the feel of good quality paper.
At the same time I am a dreamer. I am loving, kind, empathic, open, calm and curious. I have the tendency to make people feel at ease, even when I don't know them. And I have barely ever come across a person I couldn't get along with. Because I care for people and I enjoy getting to know everyone I come across.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am on my way to start my internship at the international school of Ghent and I would love to get to know the city through the eyes of someone who knows it by heart. Though I enjoy traveling and getting to know new places, I am not a globetrotter or backpacker. Instead of seeing many places in a short amount of time, I rather stay in a certain place for a while and emerge myself into the culture.

Interests

  • photography
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • reading
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • plants
  • meditaion
  • writing poetry

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Norah Jones, Neil Young, Janice Ian, John Mayers, Jacqueline Goveart,
Books:Haruki Murakami, Griet op de Beeck, Sally Rooney
Movies: Lion, The lobster, The magic of belle isle, The collateral beauty, , Harry Potter (all of them), P.S. I love you, The peanut butter falcon
Series: Daughters of destiny, Lost, The end of the f***ng world, How to get away with murder, broadcurch

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I decided to go on a 6-month trip through South East Asia at age 17.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My great cooking skills (according to my roommates and family members).
Here are some options to choose from:
- Traditional Indian curry’s
- White wine & salmon tagliatelle
- Carrot cake a la Sterre
- Pumpkin mac&cheese with fresh thyme

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Italy, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Sterre’s full profile.