stewart blake's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see stewart’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Special needs teacher
  • BSc Geography, University of Aberystwyth
  • From Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I am originally from Cheltenham in the UK and my wife is from Cork in Ireland. Four years ago, we moved to Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam. Since arriving there, I have been working with children with special needs.

Prior to working in education, I worked for a number of years as a nomadic chef and backpacked my way around the world.

I think that the greatest thing about travelling is that you never really know what the next day will bring. We live in a crazy world where we are repeatedly told how scary and dangerous the world around us is. I agree that there are some crazy people out there but, apart from the two muggers I met in Peru, my overriding experience has been that people are very generous to strangers. In America, people have come out of restaurants to give me money while I have been stood hitching in the rain, in the Atlas Mountains of Morocco families have offered to sleep on the floor so that I can have the only bed in the house, in Australia a taxi driver asked where I had found the tramp little knowing he was a millionaire and I was going to be crewing his boat 1000 km from Sydney to Brisbane having never sailed before.

With this sense of optimism it is now time to start planning my next adventure. My amazing wife has given me a 12 month sabbatical to once again head off in search of new adventures. This time, I will be doing it on two wheels instead of by the power of thumb.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In July 2016, I will be giving up work and spending 12 months in the saddle as I cycle around the world. The aim of this website is to chronicle this journey – the planning, the equipment and probably most importantly the journey itself.

My planned route takes me through 4 continents and I will cover around 35,000 km during my 12 month cycle. If I will be cycling past where you live feel free to join me for a couple of days, or if you can’t join me then a meal, a garden to pitch my tent or even a bed for the night would be most appreciated.



  • education
  • running
  • gardening
  • boating
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • teaching
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - anything crime or detective related.
Music - Oasis
Movies - The Italian Job

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I used to own and run a restaurant in Togo, Lome

What I Can Share with Hosts

A love of life and adventure.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Togo, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see stewart’s full profile. It’s free!