Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 114 References 95 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish, Tagalog
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Online marketing
  • The U.S. education system + a degree in London
  • From Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like the old CS profile sections, so here they are.

CURRENT MISSION:
Finding a new passion. Going to every summer olympics for the rest of my life - Rio 2016!

ABOUT ME:
Born and raised in Los Angeles, California. Studied in Berkeley, California (2005-2009); lived in London (2007-2008; 2011-2013); Durham, North Carolina (2012); and Düsseldorf, Germany (2013-2015). I returned to LA and now (2016) spend time regularly in Sydney for work.

So I don't really fit any one place. :) And I don't like fitting into labels, since they never actually fit.

What I "do" is work in online marketing (putting ads on the internet, yay!). I also tutor several people every week in business/economics. I love to dream about running my own business and have several automated sources of income, but my sparks haven't grown into a fire yet.

I studied economics - I like that it explains so much about the world we live in. Crowdsourcing, automation, new business models, anything inspiring - I want to hear about it!

PHILOSOPHY
Don't get in the way of other people's happiness. Focus on what you can control. Try everything that you want to. Get better each day. Don't lose touch with people in your life. There's no need to label things.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been active on CS since 2008 (!). Hosted plenty of people when I lived in West LA, lived in a cool CS house in London, also hosted in Düsseldorf, and surfed many times around the world. Each experience was awesome and has led me to form some of the best friendships of my life! I am always happy to meet couchsurfers.

Interests

I love to travel (don't we all!), enjoy seeing live music (of any kind), food, drinks, trying to play the guitar, and running into streets spontaneously. However, I'm also very in touch with my lazy side, and binge-watching Netflix or any of my favorite shows.

I also enjoy food (particularly if it's spicy and/or vegan), hiking, geography (I'm a geography nerd), TV shows, and random phrases from other languages.

I've tried lots of things and usually enjoy them. Snowboarding, surfing, performing with a live band, flash mobs, volunteering, political activism, and some things that are less than legal ;)

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
I generally enjoy upbeat and catchy music (pop, rock, indie, hip-hop, electronic, punk-pop, mashups). Love throwback hits that everyone can sing along to. I will dance/sing furiously to the right song at the right time. "Don't Stop Believin" is always a good way to top off a night.

Movies:
Anything funny (Austin Powers) to exciting (the Bourne series) to popular (The Dark Knight) to inspiring (Intouchables). But I've fallen a little behind watching current movies.

Books:
I generally like non-fiction and self-improvement; Freakonomics, The Omnivore's Dilemma, Rich Dad/Poor Dad.

Also, Serial podcast!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not just one... :P
Made awesome friends. Played tennis with Andre Agassi. Survived a total car crash without wearing a seat belt. Walked to an island and took a boat back. Got hit by a deer while driving. Saw Nessie. Was on a bus, a train, and underwater at the same time. Skiied the Alps (without knowing how to ski). Ran with the Olympic Torch. Completed the Monopoly Pub Crawl in London. Appeared on a TV game show. Joined thousands in a spontaneous parade in the streets.

Stood on an active volcano. Sunset cruise under the Golden Gate. Met celebrities around LA. Was flown to Google headquarters for an interview. Touched the largest tree in the world. Met 8 models on national TV. Got kicked out of a Vegas club. Took part in a couple flash mobs. Jet skiied. Experienced an authentic crawfish boil in New Orelans. Drove across the USA. Iceland. Climbed the highest peak in England. Hitchhiked. Summer music festivals. Berlin nightlife. Summer solstice at Stonehenge. Went to several games of the 2012 London Olympics! New Years in London (twice). Driving a car in a snowstorm.

Made a best friend. Got a great job. Jumped off a diving board 10m high. Water skiied. Got on a flight without anyone on board knowing where it was going. Surfed in Hawaii. Went on an all-expense paid trip to a surprise destination. survived heartbreak and a period of depression. Taught myself to drive a motorcycle (and crashed it). Had unbelievable hangovers in Bangkok and Las Vegas (and many other places).

Became a regular at a five-star hotel's restaurant.

Teach, Learn, Share

Baking soda and vinegar can clean almost anything.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Plenty of stories and travel tips. Ideas about the world. Help with online marketing or Microsoft Excel.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Panama, Philippines, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups