Jeremy Pine's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Russian, Spanish; learning German, Italian, Persian (Farsi), Portuguese, Turkish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • loafer/wastrel
  • currently doing a Ph.D. in anthropology
  • From Pensacola, FL, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

find the perfect pair of glasses, but I don't need glasses

ABOUT ME

I am finishing my phd in anthropology with a US university, and affiliated with a research institute here in Germany. It's really just an excuse to travel a lot and learn languages. (I am a big nerd on the inside.) So, I have lived a lot of places doing research and studying. I love meeting smart/silly/artistic/dorky people near and far.

PHILOSOPHY

Against all nationalist and other discriminatory politics.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have surfed, hosted, and met up with some swell people at CS events. This has been at my homes in Philadelphia, Bishkek, and Istanbul.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A lot both surfing and hosting, since before CS existed.

Interests

-Urban exploration (from full-on spelunking of abandoned tunnels to just walks around the city)
-Playing music (poorly)
-Dinosaur comics (www.qwantz.com)
-Aikido
-Aesthetics

  • cooking
  • politics
  • comics
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • anthropology
  • languages
  • urban exploration

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - indie/electro, classical, 30s and 40s jazz

Books - academic (anthro and social theory). classic novels. contemporary things that make me think of time/consciousness in new ways.

Movies - things that surprise me.
Guy Madden
Krystof Kieslowski
Francois Truffaut
many, many more

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Foz do Iguazu in Brazil, on the border with Argentina and Paraguay. Breath-taking.

It's a huge waterfall with multiple areas where the water comes down... hiking all around, rainbows everywhere b/c of the mist.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love helping people out with languages. I enjoy explaining grammar.

Also cooking together is fun.

Countries I’ve Visited

Azerbaijan, France, Georgia, India, Italy, Madagascar, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, France, Germany, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Spain, Tajikistan, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!