Logo orange

George Cahlik

Washington, DC, United States

Wants to Meet Up

Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see George's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Russian
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Student/Closed Captionist
  • University of Texas at San Antonio -...
  • From Corpus Christi, Texas United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To get the rest of the world to stop sucking and be awesome.

ABOUT ME

I am a 29 year old student from South Texas. Aside from Texas, I have lived in Los Angeles, Moscow, Bologna, and Kuwait City during my adult life.

I would like to think of myself as an open-minded person and I like to try new experiences.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm pretty simple when it comes to terms of philosophy; I like to be independent and I don't take things too seriously -- that's not to say that I'm not opinionated or without focus -- on the contrary, I'm highly opinionated and with focus, I just don't let it get in the way of making friends.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a very small place in Bologna, Italy. I mean... like a closet, so I'm afraid that hosting someone, as much as I'd like to, is out of the question. However, I'm more than happy to go out for a beer or coffee.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am new to CouchSurfing -- I was introduced to it by my friend Olya in Moscow when I was studying there last year. She took me a CouchSurfing get together at one of my favorite restaurants. Had a great time and thought it would be an interesting thing to get into.

Interests

I like traveling foremost; but I also collect loads of music and books as well as vintage Italian scooters (although I had to sell both of my Vespas to go to grad school). I also like to SCUBA dive.

Music, Movies & Books

I am a big fan of spy flicks; especially really campy ones from the 60s.

I collect a lot of music; I like 60s soul and garage as well as britpop and some punk. I also listen to indie music and jazz. My favorite band is Pulp.

I read often, but it's mostly nonfiction for school -- I don't have much time for anything else that I'd actually prefer to read; when I read literature, I like short story formats -- Flannery O'Connor, Graham Greene, and Chekhov are my favorites.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Mexico, Philippines, San Marino

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, Kuwait, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see George's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile