Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Suchard’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, German, Spanish; learning Dutch, French, Italian, Swedish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Industry Manager and blogger
  • Master in international trade and German Linguist
  • From Barcelona
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Shouldn't this part be written by someone else like friends, relatives, etc... instead of myself? *looks at them, but it seems that they are too lazy to do it*
Okay, since it seems that this is not possible, I will do it.
I am a very active person who is always looking for new things to do, like attending to events, doing her hobbies (scroll down and you'll see that I have a few...),concerts or simply hanging out with friends.
At the moment I am working as a Industry Manager in a company that connects universities and corporations: university students solve challenges for corporations, which get the possibility to get innovative ideas from them and at the same time can see the talent students have and consider them for future vacancies they might have. My goal is make the magic happen and make them connect. Cool, huh? ;)

I studied German linguistics and a master of international trade and finances, although my dream was to study something more creative like script writing or filming, but since I did not have the chance to do it, I decided to fulfill my dream by creating my own blog/vlog project, Hella The Viking (http://hellatheviking.blogspot.com.es/).

Since I couldn't speak a word of German when I started German linguistics (I was told that I will learn the language as I studied... ¬¬*) I decided to work for a year as au-pair in Germany, which not only allowed me to speak decently in German but also to get new friends and develop my love and admiration for this cool country and its culture :)

Besides this, I love Scandinavian countries and also Japan and Australia, which I hope I'll be able to visit sometime and well, why not? Spend some time there too to get to know the country and its culture deeply.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Despite of being a native Catalan, sometimes I get surprise by the fact that some foreigners know cool places in my town/country that I did not even know that they were there. Maybe my bad orientation sense has something to do with it... ehem... I must confess that I guided some couchsurfers through my city (brave ones) and the experience was cool :)

I hope that this community will give me the opportunity to improve my language skills and why not, learning a new one like Japanese, Norwegian or even Icelandic (easy languages are mainstream ;) ), and at the same time meet cool people who shares the same interest than me.

Interests

One of the biggest dreams I have and that I have not achieved yet is travel to Australia. I think that is a cool country with a mix of different cultures which makes it unique, not to mention its great coral reef.

At the moment I am starting to run my own blog/vlog project called "Hella The Viking", which is about Scandinavian culture. I make illustration, write articles, shoot videos for my youtube channel, interview people, attend to events... it's almost like running my tv channel. Unluckily sometimes I do not have the time I need to dedicate to it as much as I would like to.

When it comes to sports, my passions are jogging and hiking. I like to walk or run through the mountain and despite I am still a wannabe, I hope to get enough energy to improve my skills as soon as possible.
Another activity that I like and that I hope that I will be able to take soon is krav maga, which allows me to be fit and at the same time be able to protect myself.

From time to time I like to attend to reenactment events with Clan Hávamál, a reenactment group where I belong. Our role is to be like a living museum of Scandinavian people of Xth century.
This hobby allowed me to get to know interesting people and travel a lot too.

  • arts
  • writing
  • concerts
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • live music
  • language exchange
  • filming
  • jogging
  • australia
  • scandinavia
  • vlogging
  • asian food
  • krav maga

Music, Movies, and Books

books:
- G.Orwell's books
- Life of Pi
- Game of Thrones

movies:

- Stanley Kubrick's, specially "the shinning",
- Fear and loathing las Vegas
- The fight club

Music:
- Oceansize
- Steve Vai
- The Doors
- NIN

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Scuba diving in Mauritius coral reef.

Standing in a viking shield wall :)

Teach, Learn, Share

languages, art, culture (new ways of seeing the world) and places.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you are not afraid of getting lost in the city (or you are brave enough to allow me to guide you ;) ) I can show it to you, tell you about cool events or event chit chat for a while.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mauritius, Netherlands, Poland, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Suchard’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups