Sue Buning's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sue’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 65, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • CPA - seasonal individual income tax preparation
  • BBA - University of Michigan MAS - University of Illinois
  • From Grandville, Michigan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Do good.

ABOUT ME

Dave and I are budget-conscious empty-nesters who enjoy travel and experiencing other cultures. Our daughter (JAMIEDAWN06) introduced us to the concept of couchsurfing. We would like to give it a try.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have now hosted several times and surfed twice. Each has been an adventure.
We are less into showing people around and socializing and more into providing a nice place to sleep for a great price.

Interests

Enjoy hiking and drinking local beer. (Dave is a homebrewer.)Just returned from a boat/bike trip on the Danube. First biking trip. Hiked the Camino de Santiago in Spain(2015). We hiked and enjoyed the craft beer scene around Portland, Oregon in 2008. Visited Belgium in 2007, planning our trip around a Rodenbach and Palm Brewery tour. :) We enjoyed Scotland summer of 2013.

Spend a lot of time with volunteer work. Much at my church and at a local thrift store. Also regularly pick up trash.

  • beer
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Love to read, 80-90 books a year. Some fantasy, some mystery, some historical fiction. Like classical music. (Play piano and organ.)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Special moments revolve around family trips - hiking and garbage-bag sledding on Whistler (in June) and sitting in an outdoor hot tub afterward (with a glass of beer in hand), snow-shoeing and white-water rafting in Japan (in May), the Great Sand Dune National Park in Colorado, hiking in Baxter State Park in Maine, ...

My daughter Jamie and I hiked the entire Camino 2015 (500 miles). Dave hiked the first ten days with us.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know lots of card games!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Sue’s full profile.