Suellen Li's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Suellen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Spanish, Turkish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Recent Graduate (Taking a gap year before medical school)
  • B.A in Environmental Science and Policy from Duke University
  • From Roanoke, VA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I recently graduated from Duke University, where I studied environmental science, and am taking a gap year before medical school to explore the world and meet new people! I studied abroad in Istanbul two years ago and have been addicted to traveling ever since. I decided to take some time off before returning to school so I am currently spending the year back in Istanbul, working on my Turkish, and getting to know the city and its people better.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I had heard about this website from a lot of people but never thought to get an account until now. I think this is a fantastic way to meet new people while traveling, share experiences, and learn from people of different backgrounds!

Interests

Traveling (of course)
Eating (I love trying new foods)
Music (piano, violin, guitar, singing)
Reading (I always appreciate new book recommendations!)
Hiking

  • books
  • singing
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chinese food
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • violin
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • languages
  • science
  • volunteering

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've spent several summers volunteering as part of a global health group in rural Honduras. We worked with local women, midwives, and health professionals to start a community health education initiative and presented lessons on nutrition, disease prevention, and various other topics to over 1,000 children and women. This summer was also my first time staying with a host family in Honduras (a single mom with 10 kids), which was simultaneously the most humbling and enriching experience of my life.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I find it really fun to practice different languages with people so if you are learning English, Chinese, or Spanish, I would love to practice with you! (my Spanish is only proficient, and my Turkish is beginner-intermediate)
I can (attempt to) cook Chinese food for you!
I can share stories of my travels (hot air ballooning in Cappadocia, getting caught in the Gezi Park Protests in Istanbul, trying exotic foods in Vietnam, etc...) and would love to listen to yours.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Honduras, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Netherlands, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Suellen’s full profile. It’s free!