Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Russian, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Aerospace Engineer studying the climate on Mars
  • aeronautical and space engineering , has always and still...
  • From Paris, France
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
used to be going into robotics to help humans colonize Mars but now is to start an East Africa Flying Doctor Service

ABOUT ME

I'm a curious, easy going cheerful weirdo trying to enjoy life at its most

I've been stung by the sweet poison of Silicon Valley life after just after a great experience traveling through Oceania and living with my friends and flatmates in Toulouse, the place to be in France back in my student times
I am now in the middle of a Phd in autonomous robotics at Oxford - yet another golden bubble. I really like being in the UK, it's close enough to my French culture and different enough to make me curious and optimistic.

I enjoy meeting new people, learning about different things, running under the rain, changing my mind, originality, enjoying happy hour, the unexpected...

Plan B: have my own pub somewhere in Ireland

PHILOSOPHY

try to appreciate small things in life, live with the people you love and be happy by giving happiness to others (hence having a pub )

finding a daily job that i find fascinating and useful

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can't really host currently but definitely am up for a pint, a trip somewhere around or a whacky adventure around the area with passing by travelers

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've unofficially done Couchsurfing during my travels in Australia and I wish to give back to others the welcome and friendship I've received back then

my close friends have done couchsurfing for a year now in Toulouse, France, which I have experienced indirectly and I definitely want a couch

Interests

MUSIC playing and listening:
many classical piano years, organ and jazz/funk group in undergrad with very good friends playing in bars. I would now love to learn the accordion and the bagpipes

Sports:
Roller Derby here and there, else I'd like to stick to climbing walls as it is quite soothing and relaxing
I'm trying to get my diving levels
I started Gliding - and it is quite a sport indeed

Flying - currently getting my PPL and learning to glide
Traveling, taking off on the road without any big plans

Retro stuff - clothing and music

pubs
having a good laugh

  • arts
  • running
  • meditation
  • pub crawls
  • happy hour
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • piano
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rugby

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Woofing in a hippie family out of Adelaide for ten days in Australia: meditation, harmony and the bare necessities.... it has really changed my vision of my surrounding, relationships, life

Burning Man 2013 ? fascinating art and best music. quite taken aback by the orgasm tent but just loved the freedom and diversity of the place and the burners

Teach, Learn, Share

I hope to share experiences, thoughts, views, lifestyles...

Countries I’ve Visited

Benin, Burkina Faso, China, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Scotland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups