Lorraine Hu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorraine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Spanish, Swahili, Welsh
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Archaeology PhD student
  • Too many years of education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Spread kindness, combat ignorance, stay curious.

ABOUT ME
I'm a graduate student at St. Louis studying East African archaeology. The way to my heart is most definitely through my stomach.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Had a two-month Couchsurfing journey around the UK and Ireland and the number of amazing people that I met during that adventure still blows my mind. It's a wonderful community and I've enjoyed starting to host at my own place!

Interests

STREET FOOD. Hiking/winter mountaineering, camping, snowboarding, rock climbing, anything and everything outdoors. Dancing! International cookbooks. Weird instruments. Good conversation. Bad jokes and terrible puns. Random factual tidbits. Learning about new cultures and meeting people of course!

  • dancing
  • cooking
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • drums
  • hiking
  • camping
  • snowboarding
  • anthropology
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Recent TV obsessions have included Broadchurch, Breaking Bad, Scrubs, Downton Abbey, basically any travel documentary, Game of Thrones, Narcos, How I Met Your Mother...

I love all sorts of music, but being from the woods, I love some good ol fashioned folk and bluegrass. Special place in my heart for a musician named Gregory Alan Isakov - if you haven't heard of him and like beautiful music, look him up!

Books: Recently, anything by David Mitchell, Bill Bryson, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Two things are tied for first place:

1) My time doing archaeology in Kenya, and 2) spontaneously deciding to go on a midnight road trip to the Isle of Skye to see the sunrise with a CS host, then proceeding to jump into the icy Fairy Pools in the freezing cold (luckily we had whiskey to keep us warm)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can play, in descending order of ability: piano, guitar, drums, mandolin, erhu and guzhen (traditional Chinese instruments), (maybe clarinet from when I was in 5th grade...haha) so if you have some instruments lying around, impromptu jam session?

I can also teach bits of various languages to varying degrees!

Want to learn to dance? I can teach you East coast swing, lindy hop, charleston, waltz, tango, foxtrot, quickstep, chacha, salsa, rumba, samba, jive... the list goes on ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, archaeology lectures about skeletons (ha), food, conversation, laughs, general silliness!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Costa Rica, Iceland, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorraine’s full profile.

My Groups