Stuart Updegrave's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stuart’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 27 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Traveling the world by myself on a motorcycle.
  • No education listed
  • From Tarboro and Raleigh, NC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

This section needs to be updated. After spending 11 months on my motorcycle traveling through the US, Europe, and Morocco, I decided to live in Barcelona, my current home. (Once I figure out how to edit where I live, I'll change that.)

CURRENT MISSION

Travel through Europe, North Africa and Asia by motorcycle.

ABOUT ME

After spending six weeks riding my motorcycle across the US, I am spending the next 18 months on a solo adventure through most of Europe, North Africa, Central / East / Southeast Asia. I'm simultaneously delighted and terrified by the prospect!

For more about this trip, feel free to check out my blog:

http://updegrave.com/blog/
- or -
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Stuart-Updegrave-Tales-of-a-Traveler/103933896357086

PHILOSOPHY

Love is the strongest force in the universe. The best expression of that is to be kind and honest with the people in your life, whether it be for a moment or a lifetime.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm still fairly new to couchsurfing, though I've let people stay in my home, and stayed in the homes of others, many times in the past. Since I made it to Europe, I've had several wonderful hosts already and am looking forward to many more over the course of my travels.

I love to cook, and am happy to do so for my hosts if they're interested. You're not likely to be disappointed!

Interests

Travel, photography, motorcycles, food, wine, conversations with interesting people.

  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • motorcycles
  • traveling
  • blogging

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't even know where to begin.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I crossed the Continental Divide in Wyoming on foot, in a blizzard, with a 90# pack on my back.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm very good with a chef's knife, and in the kitchen. I'm happy to teach cooking skills, from basic knife handling or making a cream sauce or ragu from scratch.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Stuart’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups