Susan Bamber's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 63, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • a bit of this and a bit of that
  • B Pharm.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

FIrstly when I am taking guests I get a couple of requests a day so I probably can't host you. I try to take someone a couple of times a month. I am often out of town or busy with family and friends. If I just push declined it is because I am really busy and don't want to keep you hanging.

I love nature and the outdoors. I especially love water, the sea, lakes, rivers and mountains. I have a great sense of humour. I have worked as a pharmacist and in hospitality both in accommodation and food and beverage and on a dry stock farm. I have raised three children who are now in their twenties. I am a beekeeper and I am interested in gardening and growing my own food and alternative stuff. I have lived in the US, France and Turkey. I love travelling and meeting local people. I love meeting travellers and sharing my country with them. I am not always able to host as I often have friends, family and friends of friends etc staying. However expect a warm welcome if I am able to welcome you to my home. I have been hosting couch surfers since long before it had a name.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I travel I like to meet the locals and get a feel for how they live. I enjoy meeting people of all ages. We had a lot of woofers (up to 8 at a time in my home) when we had a farm and I have heard a lot about couch surfing from them and want to give it a go. My daughter also couch surfs and I have shared hosting responsibilities with her. I love to have my home full of laughter and positive energy.

Interests

Travelling, reading, hiking, cooking, mosaics, scuba diving, gardening, beekeeping, swimming, yoga and lots of things I haven't tried yet.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • flying
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • pottery
  • knitting
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • lakes
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy classical music and opera as well as the music of the 60s 70s, 80s and 90s but I also enjoy solitude and the sound of the wind, the rain and the sea.
Books The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. Anything By Robertson Davies, The Boy by Vikram Seth and lots and lots more...
Movies Four Weddings and a Funeral, Forest Gump, Dr Zhivago, The Sound of Music, Diner des Cons,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just one thing surely not...
Explored deserted Greek ruins of a port city in Turkey alone on a bike. Complete with bits of Greek pottery in the water.
Cycling amongst the tulips and hyacinths in the Netherlands in spring.
Champagne harvest in Champagne, France.
Ballooning in Cappadocia.
Learning to fly a glider.
Climbing my first mountain.
Scuba diving at some of the world 's top dive sites.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have learnt that being kind is the most important thing. I love helping people learning English. I enjoy a chance to practise some French or Spanish. I enjoy making mosaics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a really good cook. I can help out round the house, garden or farm. I can sew and knit basic items. I have a great sense of humour and can share a lot of stories. Hopefully I can make you laugh and miss me when I have gone.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, New Zealand, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile.

My Groups