Susan Stutzman's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 50, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • I'm a pediatric nurse, and a former elementary school tea...
  • BS Ed & nursing diploma
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to introduce my girls to the world, specifically to connect with families in other countries with children their own age.

ABOUT ME

I traveled a lot as a college student, now It's two decades later and I'm ready to go back into the world with the offspring. I want to travel with my two girls, 8 and 11, before it's not cool to hang w mom anymore. I want to put my love of the world beyond their own country into their hearts.

PHILOSOPHY

I love to compare and contrast cultures and ideas with people. I'm always open to adventure and learning. I am dedicated to raising my girls to be brave, strong, critical thinkers, and to understand others' perspectives.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My girls would like the opportunity to visit a school in another country for a day or two and make new friends!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have a friend who has had marvelous experiences with Couchsurfing and has gotten me very excited about the prospect of making it happen!

Interests

I love current events, social causes, parenting issues, crafting, my family, and my computer! We'll be putting a photobook together to document our journey! Recently I've taken up DIY projects around the house, and currently learning how to remove/install toilets, showers, etc. My newest addiction is binge-watching all these TV series that Netflix carries. My 11-year-old girl loves Harry Potter and Doctor Who. My 8-year-old girl loves Littlest Pet Shop and all sorts of animals, especially bunnies and cats. Both girls love entering contests and playing online games, including Minecraft. My husband is the cook of the family, and is always trying out new recipes on us!

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • diy
  • causes
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • flying
  • shopping
  • tv
  • traveling
  • camping
  • medicine
  • nursing

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I haven't traveled extensively in many years, but back in college I could, since my dad worked for an airline and I could fly free if there was space available (and there usually was!) I had friends all over the US and Europe because of summer jobs I've had where they employed exchange students. I was "couchsurfing" way back in the early 90's, long before the Internet!

Nowadays, I work a month each summer at a sleepaway camp. I'm a nurse so I swap my professional services for tuition for my girls. It's a great arrangement and I'm so glad I am able to do this for my kids. I am always searching for opportunities to give unique, amazing experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups