Susan Kong's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 72% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 114 References 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning German
  • 50, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • retired
  • University,electronic engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Help the people, see the world

ABOUT ME

I love nature, and simple life and I like kids. I'm addicted to healthy life style, like keeping fit, hiking, playing badminton, eating organic food and try to reduce the use of chemicals at home as far as possible.

Childhood in countryside gave me precious memory and made me firmly believe mankind is only a part of the world and people are born equal, we have the responsibility to protect our environment and help those people in need.

Traveling is a way to know who you are and where you are going, and also a way to know people's versatile life and cultures.

I love kids. It is great pleausure to see those kids with sunny happy smile.

I'm a memeber of local Tibet dancing club and we dance in the morning everyday. You are welcome to join us! Simple and great fun!

I used to work with people with different culture background which broadened my horizon.It's always a pleasure to meet people from all over the world and exchange traveling stories.

I also like sewing practical stuff with cloth (like bags, table sheet, embroidery, hair belt...), cotton or linen, to make life more beautiful.

PHILOSOPHY

Traveling is a life style and life attitude.

Listen to your heart and go where your heart tells you.

Life is a string of events and we are challenged to make choices.

Even a 1,000 mile journey starts with one step.(Laotzi, philosopher of ancient China).

We can save lots of resources, energy and time if we choose to live in a simple,honest and respective way, as a result the world will be more bueatiful,peaceful and harmonuous.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Learned this site from a "Lonely Planet" book. Hope to join this community and exchange couches/stories/cullture for traveling.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted or meet up over 100 CS travelers from all over the world so far Being hosted in wesern Europe and US by over 20 hosts. Experience is great! Strangers can be good friends and help each other in many ways.

Interests

Traveling,hiking, sewing DIY, Yoga, Belly dance, Tibetan Dancing,planting,volunteering,reading,badminton,cooking,language learning,traditional Chinese medicine

  • animals
  • culture
  • books
  • diy
  • belly dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chinese food
  • yoga
  • modeling
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • music
  • hiking
  • badminton
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • volunteering
  • mountains
  • tibet dangcing

Music, Movies, and Books

book: Walden Pond
Movie: sound of music
Music: folk music, such as that from Tibet, Mogolia etc

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. Sunrise on Yellow Mountain
2. Three-peak hiking in UK
3. When I do volunteer teaching with another CSer from Malasia, we were delighted to find out that our birthday is the same and our animal year (we have 12 animals to mark one's age) is the same too! We celebrated our common birthday in Beijing!
4. My son's birth and the fire-like beautiful cloud next morning in the sky
5. My son started reading newspaper at 6, and self-learned GO by reading a book called " 7 day Game of Go"

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm familiar with traveling in Beijing and Zhangjiakou(2020 Winter Olympic game city) and other places in China.
Besides I could help on these:
1. I speak and write good Mandarin(Chinese), so I can teach you.
2.Help book train tickets (website is in Chinese)
3. Teach you how to make home-made Chinese food or dance (Tibetan style).
4.Show you around in Beijing if I'm free

I want to learn:
1. Different languages
2.Cat walk
3. Belly dance
4. Painting
5. Crochet

What I Can Share with Hosts

Yoga, Tibetan dance, Cloth sewing stuff, language learning

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Susan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups