Logo orange

Sarah Vernier

Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

83% response rate · Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Grade 6/7 French Immersion Teacher
  • Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Education
  • From Pontarlier, Franche-Comté, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

* I know my reply rate is 0%... but that's because I fell off the grid for a while - I'm back on the horse now !

CURRENT MISSION

balance!

ABOUT ME

So I'm a France-born Canadian, and I live on Vancouver Island; an gorgeous place away from the city (but not too too far !). My fiancé, Nicolas, is from the South of France, and just became a Canadian himself :)

I love YOGA, ART, and MUSIC. I love learning how to incorporate more nature in my life, and I try to lead a pure, clean life. To achieve this I am positive, friendly and very open. Living in the most beautiful place in the world helps!

Je parle français et je suis très agréable et gentille comme tout!

Im a literature adorer, and a painter. I love traveling and trying new food, meeting new people, and most of all seeing the hidden secret corners of a city that sometimes end up even more exciting than the "main events".

I love cooking... :)

PHILOSOPHY

I'm spontaneous, I don't say, I just do. I love music; listening to new sounds, hipster/tribal/classic/rap/street musicians/live bands/jazz/rock/oldies/anything! I love the guitar but have yet to come close to perfecting it, I'm good at encouraging people around me to serenade me.

I'm just starting the journey of being a teacher, and I'll be thrilled to talk your ear off about it!

I love to do yoga, especially in obscure places. I like sketching, also normally in pretty random locations... I skip in the streets, I make people laugh, and I love hearing people rant.

I love long discussions and puns. I think we should all take life by the horns and go out and experience the world.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed quite a bit, hosted once when I was in France to a lovely couple, and now ready to keep hosting until I decide where to travel next.

I live in a lovely, large apartment in Campbell River, and there is a couch along with a bedroom with pull-out equipped and ready to host!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A recent summer I did a decent amount of couch surfing, but mostly with friends of friends or distant family of friends and that sort of thing. I stayed with an amazing family of four who took me to see Windsor castle and to have fish and chips! In Ireland I stayed with a very very busy lawyer, but as soon as she had a free evening we had an amazing night on the town in Dublin... it was great to see her finally unwind ;) I've been all over France, and Spain and I can't wait to keep going. Hosting is amazing too!

Interests

Art Yoga Discovering music Literature Languages Exploring Discussions Wandering about Teaching

Music, Movies & Books

I love cheesy action flicks, old classic chick flicks (Audrey Hepburn),and most of all thinking-classics like Shawshank Redemption. Epics are always great as well.

I have a pretty broad range of tastes in books. I studied literature so I can kinda get into anything I think. I'm currently balancing three novels (yes, including the Hunger Games.. I have to know what my students keep raving about!).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hmmm one amazing thing I have done is take a road trip down to Mexico (Tijuana) from Vancouver to help a rebuild a community. It was definitely an incredible experience.

The most spontaneous thing I have done is book a one way flight to France (to the city where I was born) after finishing my degree at university. I didn't have a plan, I traveled for months on my own and then finally ended up finding work in France for a year.

Teach, Learn, Share

Alright, so I can teach you to cook French or Italian food because that's what I grew up on! I speak both languages as well so I could help out with that too. I am an artist, so I can teach you to sketch, to paint watercolour, or to stare at art.

I'd love to learn to play the guitar, cook other specialties, and practice other languages & yoga!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Cuba, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile