Logo orange

Deborah Jones

Odessa, Odessa, Ukraine

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Deborah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian, Spanish, Tajik, Ukrainian
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • phd candidate in anthropology
  • books and people. lots of them.
  • From chicago suburbs
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

ukraine through 2013

ABOUT ME

in a permanent state of wanderlust.

My family jokes that I became an anthropologist because I was looking for a job that would pay me to travel. While I love what I study and teach, I can't say that the travel isn't a serious bonus.

My research is in Eastern Europe, specifically Ukraine (though I hope to continue my comparative work in Tajikistan!), and I'll be in Odessa through 2013. However, my first love was Latin America, and I'm always looking forward to sunshine, spice, and salsa.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Meet-ups, surfing, and finally, hosting.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've met wonderful people in Guatemala, Mexico, Ukraine, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and New Orleans (USA). I've hosted through Couchsurfing here in Ukraine, and through all sorts of channels back home in the U.S.

Interests

language, environment, outdoor activity, and good food.

I can frequently be found conducting cooking and baking experiments, practicing yoga, reading (reading, reading, reading), and wandering both city and countryside by foot and by bike. I confess I'm equally happy doing these things alone or with company.

Music, Movies & Books

Currently listening to: new St. Vincent and Bon Iver (like everyone else); old DeVotchka, Gogol Bordello and Julieta Venegas; Persian music I don't understand but like anyway.

Best recent literary read: "This is How you Lose Her" (Diaz). Best recent academic read: "Everything was Forever, Until It was No More: The Last Soviet Generation" (Yurchak)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

made friends with strangers.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you English, but I'd rather teach you to cook or bake what I consider to be real American food. (Hint: not just hamburgers and hot dogs.) I'd love to learn to make dishes from your country, too.

I'd also like to become a better salsa dancer, and to identify edible mushrooms, or at least avoid the poisonous ones.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Finland, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Israel, Mexico, Moldova, Republic of, Mongolia, Palestine, State of, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I've Lived In

Costa Rica, Russian Federation, Ukraine, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Deborah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile