Sylvie Soucis's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sylvie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 59, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • speech therapist in school - orthophoniste
  • master degree - maitrise
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

HI
I always like travelling because I like to meet people from different countries and I 'm curious about a lot of things, history , nature, way of life, politics, wine and food . I 'm french speaking because i come from Québec but I moved to Vancouver 3 years and I improved my english there. My job was about communication with impaired children in schools and it allows me to work all around the Quebec province I like outdoor to get close to my essence and to enjoy nice places in the countryside . I' m also urban because I like nice clothes , arts, i 'm a beginning painter and love museums. I like to create nice environment in house with few things , shopping about decoration, I can appreciate nice apartments with wood , natural things to feel cosy away from home.
A nice fragrance in the garden or little candle inside makes life nicer!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to share my passions and know more people.
I would like to know more about Portugal in february and march.
My favorite hour is happy hour with tapas and a bit of wine, talking and enjoying life .
J'aime préparer la bouffe avec les gens .
Music, festival : montreal got plenty of it !! nice places to visit, feeling all the neighbours of Montreal
Je suis francophone et j'aime le Québec que je connais bien car j'ai visité et habité la ville de Québec , les environs , Montréal , Charlevoix et plusieurs régions . Je peux aider les gens à composer un itinéraire selon leurs goûts de plein air, camping , bord du fleuve ou de galeries d'arts. je suis assez versatile.

Music, Movies, and Books

movies : Incendies. Les ailes du désir, Le facteur, Babel, film d'Aldomovar, vieux Woody Allen, 3 billboards around Ebbing Missouri.

Books: polars suédois , scandinaves et de France Fred Vargas, Elsa Ferrante, livres ou romans pour comprendre l'Asie, le bouddhisme, The power of now, la joyeuse tribu des Malaussène, auteurs québécois, Donna Tart.

musique : voir dans Teach car j'aime partager mes gouts variés pour la musique!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled alone a couple of times( and with my life partners also). During 9 months , I cycled in 1984 from Amsterdam to north of Spain along the coast with my 4 bike paniers . I had friends in Bilbao and spend winter in Canaries and came back up to Venice. J'ai continué ensuite jusqu'en Provence. At that time, no internet, no bank machine..., no euros, to be a woman alone allow me to meet such great people !!
I also took 7 sabbatical years or half year so I went to a lot of places. I like Europe, all the mediterranean , walking in Corsica or in Cycladic Greek islands. I also went 7 times in south east Asia , Bali, trek in Nepal , Myanmar and visiting North India and yoga retreat in Rishikesh. These countries fascinates me.

Teach, Learn, Share

Music : I LOVE music, i had my own radio program for 20 years in voluntary radio Québec city .CKRL mf 89
french and quebec music, american and european jazz, world music , fado, ECM type calm music , from arab Anouar Brahem to Oka from Australia or Bonobo, Leonard Cohen , Madeleine Peyroux, lounge. electronica.
Nature , parks , hiking in small or big mountains , river , sea. I love ocean !!
Cycling everywhere , its a way of living...
Yoga kundalini and discussion about spirituality but in a smooth way...
Food : pasta, sushi, fish, tapas, asian sauté, Mediterranée ,Tajine to vegetarian options ; everything is possible
Wine: diploma 2017 of new sommelier! love red Côte du rhone , chianti, Tempranillo et blanc from the Loire...

What I Can Share with Hosts

My love for Montreal by walk , Mont Royal, canal Lachine, Ile st -Hélene, vieux montreal, Mile End ,
Veggies open markets, sympathique marché Jean talon , Atwater, the quebec-european way of life...
cycling path ,walking, hiking place , promenade rue St Denis, to see little underground clothes or deco shops
Music festival and museums, there are so many here!
Nice places to eat or pot luck at home in my balcony in front of a park !!
Food and wine from everywhere in the world ( i just finish a dream: a wine class 2 diploma in Vancouver) but i like to keep it simple and easygoing...

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Italy, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Sylvie’s full profile. It’s free!