Sytske Besemer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sytske’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Post-doc / researcher in criminology and psychology at UC...
  • I studied psychology and criminology
  • From Ter Aar, the Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

enjoying life as best as I can

ABOUT ME

I'm energetic, happy, curious and busy. I'm researching criminal behaviour and as a bonus get to travel quite a bit around the world for that. I love doing sports: roadcycling, rock climbing and windsurfing among them.

I am currently doing a postdoc in California after an around-the-world-trip (2012) with my partner Wouter, starting in Delhi, on to Nepal, Thailand, New Zealand, Fiji, California, Madison (WI) and back to Europe. We had an amazing time meeting wonderful people along the way and had great couchsurfing experiences in Delhi and Fiji. We also love exploring California and the 'wider' US (favorites: Washington State, Hawai'i, Utah, Arizona) and go camping/climbing/surfing/hiking/skiing whenever we can.

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy life as best as you can; take opportunities that will create experiences and make you grow.
Don't work too hard, because life has so much more to offer.
Be positive and generous to other people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been hosting and surfing and enjoy both. I'm traveling quite often, but when I'm home I'm happy to have people stay over and show you some places to go to.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS is a great way to get an insight in daily life and culture of the places I visit. At the same time, it is wonderful to have people stay with me and show them some inside places. Great initiative!

Interests

Lots! As I said doing sports. Obviously traveling and meeting new people. Nature! This means that I prefer to be outdoors much more than being in the city, but also means I love growing tomatoes, courgettes, kale, and many more vegetables, flowers and fruit on our terrace. I also love photography and cooking.

  • culture
  • photography
  • cooking
  • flowers
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • windsurfing
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Lots!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One thing? Hard to say, I can't choose between so many amazing things. Amazing things are present in everyday life I would say!

Teach, Learn, Share

Listen to yourself.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Monaco, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sytske’s full profile. It’s free!