Syuaib  (Jethro)'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Syuaib ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references
  • Fluent in English, Malay; learning Chinese
  • 20, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Tawau, Sabah, Malaysia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Heyooo Couchsurfers!

I am Syuaib (or Jethro in English). I am currently in my second year of A-Levels and will be continuing my studies in the United Kingdom next year in Business Management and Marketing!

I am still new to backpacking abroad and solo travels. I am eager to experience other cultures as well as meeting new people, whose are passionate for travel as me. I have went around in Malaysia for holidays so hit me up if you want to know more about my beloved country.

As a person, you can say that I am one of the adventurous kind. Any opportunity for a dopamine rush, I'll take it! I am impulsive when it comes to travel, but I am also down for any of your last-minute plans. Believe me, I won't turn it down, whether it's the club, theme park or even just a stroll down the bridge. Additionally, I can be very talkative at times, which is why I can easily make friends anywhere I go and I hope that you will enjoy my company.

In terms of living, I regularly clean up after myself. I really like a tidy house because it improves my mood and helps me to stay focus. You can trust me with any house chores and I will do it. I also listen to music on headphones only when I'm at the guest house, so no loud music guaranteed! I am restricted to not eat pork however, but I wouldn't mind if you do.

I hope that I will be able to meet a lot of amazing people in the CS community. Thank you for having me as your friend and guest :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After a while being active in travelling locally, I realised that meeting new people is what makes it fun, especially if they are the locals that can show you the authentic local experience behind all the the touristy areas. That is why I am on CS, to meet new local friends. I am excited to where this adventure will lead me.

Interests

A lot! Though I prefer to not get into the wilderness that much.

  • concerts
  • festivals
  • live music
  • street food
  • museums
  • new experiences
  • galleries
  • cafès

Music, Movies, and Books

Music
I can listen to any songs that I think fit my taste. But here are just some of the typical genres and artist I listen to!

* Female rap - Nicki Minaj, Megan Thee Stallion, Doja Cat
* Indie Pops - Cavetown, Tipling Rock
* Sad Hour Jams - SHY Martin, Alec Benjamin
* Kpop - Blackpink, Red Velvet, ITZY
* Boy bands - 5SOS, Bunkface, Meet Uncle Hussain
* Mainstream Pops - Lady Gaga, Ariana Grande
* EDM Party - Galantis, The Chainsmokers

Movies
I would say that I'm quite indifferent when it comes to movies. So here are some that I've watched in the past!

* Jumanji - Adventure
* IT - Horror
* Us - Horror
* Pitch Perfect - Musical
* La La Land - Musical
* Despicable Me - Animations
* Isn't It Romantic - Romance Comedy

Books
It's been a while since I read book. I am mostly reading news and youtube channels now. Here are some of my favorites!

* Forbes
* The Economist
* Bloomberg
* Wall Street Journal
* Modern MBA
* Business Insider
* CNBC

It's probably obvious that I have undivided love for Economics, Business and Finance :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled to all states in Malaysia for competitions and programs ! I am very active in volunteering with several NGOs and during high school years, I am involved in pretty much every possible national competitions. Here are some of them!

Selangor - TNB Young Leaders Camp
Kelantan - Community outreach in Kampung Baru
Terengganu - Islamic Youth Competition
Pahang - Youth National Science and Robotics Challenge
Negeri Sembilan - National Dramafest
Melaka - UPM Aerofest and Drone Competition
Johor - National Mathematics Olympiad
Sabah - State Track and Field Competition

With a lot of different interests, I took any chance I had to pursue it further!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am currently learning other languages, though the main one is Mandarin. If you're fluent let me know!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am learning to cook. I can prepare some of the common Malaysian dishes like Ayam Masak Merah and Nasi Goreng Kampung. I can (hopefully) cook for you when I'm staying over :)

I am happy to help around the house, be it washing dishes, feeding the pets or even cleaning up the lawn.

Countries I’ve Visited

Malaysia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia

Join Couchsurfing to see Syuaib ’s full profile.