Logo orange

Nicola Tadini

Copenhagen, Capital Region of Denmark, Denmark

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicola's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 84 Positive References
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Italian, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Currently living
  • Political Science/Cultural Studies
  • From Milan and Bologna, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find the question to the answer "42"

ABOUT ME

A long series of fairly unplanned events brought me up north all the way to Copenhagen, where I've been working with lot of different things while finishing my master thesis, and doing activism on top of things to spice it all up. Now that I am finished with my studies, I decided to spend the winter in a warmer place than Denmark, which is why I will be touring around South East Asia. About myself I guess I'd say I'm very sociable, laid-back and usually in a good mood, but it will be eventually up to you to decide whether I'm right (hope so...) or not. What I can surely say is that since I love to meet new people, you should feel free to contact me for a beer, dinner, city-tour or whatever you might have in mind: do you want to learn how to cook pasta? or maybe discover where Saddam's weapons of mass destruction were? Just contact me...

If it is me contacting you, then you have the unique opportunity to get an answer to the questions above, and to many more!

PHILOSOPHY

One man's trash, another man's treasure.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host, I surf, I talk about it to everybody I know!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been couchsurfing quite a lot in the last few years. Berlin, Madrid, Copenhagen, Brazil, Philippines and Morocco are only some of these experiences. Plus we've had countless guests staying on our couch.

What I totally got addicted to is the sharing behind this entire project: whether it's the sharing of a bit of floor, of a warm meal or of a laugh.
It has been since the beginning a great excuse to make new friends, a fantastic way to get to know a place through its people instead of having the nose stuck in a guidebook, a very good medicine that brought new stories and people home, when I could not be out travelling myself.

Interests

Traveling (of course), reading, squats and social centers, photography, frisbee, capoeira, Berlin, politics, a million small things, good food.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: hard to tell. I usually prefer movies about social issues rather than Hollywood thrillers or comedies (besides "The Goonies" and "Ghostbusters", but that's a generational mark): some good examples of what I like could be "La Haine", "Lavorare con lentezza" or "Hedwig and the Angry Inch". But I do recognize the need for Hollywood action thrillers in disastrous hangover times.
I also found myself deeply in love with British humour, and "Black Books" and Ricky Gervais are on top of that list!

Music: Reggae, different kinds of Electronic and Rock, Patchanka, and the ugliest and most annoying pop and dance from the 80's and the early 90's - like those summer hits you wish you had forgotten when turned (the latest) 18, but no worries: I'll play them for you and remind you how horrible they were!

Books: loads and loads... an effective name-dropping would have to include Wu Ming (or Luther Blisset), Jean-Claude Izzo, Italo Calvino, Raymond Queneau, some of the Latin American magic realism (until a certain extent), Alessandro Baricco's "Oceano Mare" (but not much of the rest) as well as Beigbeder. Two book I recently enjoyed are "Everything is illuminated" by Safran Foer and "The brief woundrous life of Oscar Wao" by Junot Diaz.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One is true, one is not. Your call.

I won a frog race, once.
I swam with a whale shark, once.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach how to miserably fall off a unicycle.
I'd like to learn how to ride a unicycle.
I can lend you my unicycle, if you don't have one.

PS For the time being I'd also love to learn to DJ, so let me know, if you can share some skills of that kind!

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Laos, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Philippines, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Denmark, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicola's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile