Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tali’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Hebrew (modern), Russian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • gypsy, dancer, sunshine-spiller :-)
  • No education listed
  • From Buffalo, NY, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To reunite my family! I am married, with a 2-year old daughter. Due to delay in doing his paperwork, my husband was deported to Spain from the US over a year ago. All of my focus right now is on piecing together the puzzle that will bring us back together again... while raising my little one, AND trying to take care of me! It's a lot of balls to juggle to keep in the air, but I'm a tough lady.... and best of all, I'm a whole person, even without my main man! :-)

ABOUT ME

I am an American currently living in my hometown of Buffalo, NY (while I work out the details for above mission!)

Though I always liked to travel, it was my passion for Argentine Tango that really got me started exploring the world!! First it was to major cities all over North America, NYC and Montréal being my favorites. Then, wanting to learn Spanish, I bought a one-way ticket to Madrid, Spain where I was based for over a year while traveling around Europe. There, I lived as a gypsy and an expat, making some of the most incredible memories and living such adventures! This time in my life was so influential in shaping the woman I am today! After living in Madrid, I lived short-term in Paris and in Buenos Aires, dancing tons of tango, of course! :-) This season of wanderlust was, "the time of my life," and helped shape me into the woman I am today. Now, with a small child, I travel less, but am even more grateful when an opportunity does arise! I appreciate the precious time I have much more than I once did; I truly treasure the rare luxury of flying solo in a foreign place! :-)

I am always up for new adventures and experiences, new people, new languages, new foods, new cultures, new cities and sights. I love to be around people, whether it is dancing, talking, sharing a meal, exploring a city together, or even just some good conversation.

As a traveler, I am very independent. If you are gracious enough to let me stay with you will not have to worry about babysitting me. I do not expect you to be my tour guide or personal chef. I do not expect you to pick me up from the airport or give me directions all over the city. If we spend time together that is great, but don't worry about rearranging your life.

Not always, but often I prefer to do things alone. Please don't misinterpret this as unfriendliness. Traveling, for me, is easier when I can change plans suddenly without being a burden to someone else...and when they can do the same.

Argentine tango is a passion for me and I often will travel far for a great event. Chances are that I'll be wanting to dance in your city too, so don't worry about having to take me out at night. If I'm free for the evening, what I really want to do is go DANCING!! :-)

I like yoga. I like getting lost in un-explored barrios. I like taking pictures. I like spending hours in the park or on the beach. I like good coffee and good cheese and trying local specialties. I like farmer's markets. I like dancing salsa and bachata and forró. I like to sew and cook and to create. What's your story?

PHILOSOPHY

"To laugh often and much; To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded."

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am currently living in my parents' home, as I piece together the details of my own life, so unfortunately I am unable to host now!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted and stayed in homes of friends and strangers (who become new friends) my whole life. I've never had a bad experience! I hope to accumulate many more positive experiences like this. :-)

Interests

seeing the world
'getting lost' and exploring new cities by foot
adrenaline
the cycles of life
alternative medicine
horseback riding
the sea
full moons
nutrition
dancing
motorbikes
breathing mountain air
food: eating, creating, sharing, savoring!
photography- either behind or in front of the camera
moving to music
practicing yoga
chasing the sun
feeling the wind in my hair

  • photography
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • tango
  • bachata
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • magic
  • music
  • equestrian
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • languages
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I've read hundreds of books and seen hardly any movies. I grew up without a TV, and don't see any need for one now. I'm to busy LIVING life to watch/read about how other people live theirs!

I love tango music, Latin and Brazilian rhythms, sexy jazz (Esperanza Spaulding or Melody Gardot for example,) classical, rock.... gee you can get me jamming to just about anything to be honest. I love music, especially the kind that inspires movement! :-)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-experiencing summer solstice from a hammock on a rooftop in Prague
-skiing in the French Alps
-hitchhiking in Spain
-Israel. It *is* holy ground... I felt the magic as soon as I set foot there
-swimming under a full moon in the Mediterranean in the South of France
-birthing a child! Wow! Empowering! ;-)

Teach, Learn, Share

inspiration! (I always see the bright side)
dance - all sorts of dance!
cooking
sewing/jewelry making
English
Spanish (practice!)
fancy hair-dos and braids (either completely useless to you or completely exciting!) :-)

What I Can Share with Hosts

-I am neat and clean. I always try to leave a place in better, or at least the same condition as I find it.
-I am a good cook, and more than happy to share my creations!
-I may not be around much, but if I am, I'm always up for some good conversation, an evening walk, maybe even the occasional hand-rolled cigarette! :-)
-I am NOT looking for sex or any kind of flirtation! I am a free, but happily married woman! :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Monaco, Netherlands, Portugal, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Tali’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups