Logo orange

Talia Meer

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Talia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 20 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Afrikaans
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Student
  • University
  • From Stanger, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

find something that I love to do that also gives me enough money to survive!

ABOUT ME

I am passionate about real positive change in the realm of gender, LGBTI issues, and the environment.
I am a researcher at a research unit that focuses on gender, health and the law in South Africa.
I also like:
Reading. Watching movies. Inventing new ways to stay out of real employment. Arguing loudly.
Petting strange dogs. Trying to keep my feet dry (I'm an African at heart always and forever- I don't do well with cold, wet climates)

PHILOSOPHY

Sequi il tuo corso, e lascia dir le genti.
Marx

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I try to couch surf whenever I travel. Since my living situation has stabilised our household as been hosting quite a bit.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed in North America: Montreal, San Francisco, Boston and Atlanta; and South Africa: Port Elizabeth, the Transkei, George, Plettenberg Bay. I have only had positive experiences, and consider many of the people I have met through CS good friends.

Interests

The social, political and economic dilemmas of the developing world. Environmental economics and sustainable development. Gender Studies. Queer Culture. Feminism.
Fiction...
Protest art, theater, activism... privilege checking!

Music, Movies & Books

Favorite Music:
The Rolling Stones, The Pixies, Arcade Fire, Tegan & Sara, Santogold, MIA, Tracy Chapman, Broken Social Scene, Feist ...
Favorite Movies:
All things Cohen brothers, Adaptation, Silence of the Lambs, Io non ho paura, Me, You and everyone we know, Juno, Welcome to the Dollhouse...
Favorite Books:
The Red Tent, Fall on your knees, The Phantom of the Opera, Across the Nightingale Floor, Of Mice and Men, The Picture of Dorian Grey... (All the stuff i like is made by white people!)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I couchsurfed from KZN to the Western Cape. I thought that was pretty cool. After years of living in North America it was a great way to reacclimatise.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you lots and lots about gender based violence... and sexism in pop culture! Its more interesting than you think!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, India, Malaysia, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Talia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile