Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tamara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Health Educator
  • Sociology and Gender Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Observe, experience & share

Someday I hope to maintain a sustainable homestead. Until then I'm having trouble keeping my cactus alive.

ABOUT ME

Born and raised in the Hudson Valley, NY, studied Gender Studies and Sociology in college then spent some time volunteering in Seattle with AmeriCorps. After a few years back home working as a Health Educator, my wanderlust kicked up again and I found myself back West. Currently working as a Volunteer Coordinator for a non-profit and getting my teaching degree.

PHILOSOPHY

My year of AmeriCorps service with the Quest program inspired me to live by the Quaker testimonies of simplicity, peace, integrity, community, and equality - it's a work in progress.

Also, put away your phones and look up.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've truly enjoyed meeting, hosting, and surfing with so many terrifically unique individuals from this site.

Currently unable to host but would love to again in the future!

Interests

I enjoy people watching and the great outdoors - hiking, biking, kayaking and the likes. I also love cooking, movies, live music, and contra dancing.

Professional interests: Youth leadership development, public health, reproductive health and sexuality education.

Most likely to be one of those people in the news caught with wild animals in their home.

  • animals
  • pets
  • dancing
  • education
  • cooking
  • news
  • movies
  • eating out
  • homesteading
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • gender studies
  • sociology
  • volunteering

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rode horseback through Montana, ziplined in Orocovis, parasailed over Lake George, kayaked with gators, pet a cockroach at the Philly Zoo!

Teach, Learn, Share

I try to say "yes" as much as possible. And listen intently.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, France, Puerto Rico, Scotland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tamara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups