Elizabeth Venman's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elizabeth’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 18 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • childbirth support, loving, learning, playing...what else?
  • high school, midwifery school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I've just recently relocated to the tiny town of La Farge WI to finish my midwifery apprenticeship, and am looking forward to relocating to Providence RI in October to rejoin my partner and see about next steps as a midwife.

ABOUT ME

playful, honest, sarcastic, loving. i'm a singer, dancer, lover and playmate. i love rolling in the grass and splashing in the ocean, playing in the forest and trying to keep a connection to nature in the city. i love being present and connecting with people heart to heart, just trying to see people for who they are and loving that. i also love smiling and making funny noises, playing around. i'm quite musical, having grown up studying violin and a little viola and singing in choirs throughout elementary and high school. while i don't actively play, i've been getting the itch to get back into fiddle and find a group of women to sing with again.

PHILOSOPHY

i try to live a life of honesty and integrity while not taking myself too seriously. i love to play and sing. i love traveling to new places, although it's been some time now since i've gone on a real travel adventure. i love to meet new people from different backgrounds and cultures, especially when musical sharing or cuisine is a part of the exchange. tibetan buddhism and hinduism strike chords within me, but i don't prescribe any one tradition or religion. when i was living in india after high school, i particularly loved to see the different expressions of the same truth through the many different religions there, including the sikh and jain traditions, which i hadn't encountered much before. i am a lover of truth.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i'm in midwifery apprenticeship full time right now and am busy attending births and being on call 24/7, so unfortunately can't offer my home for surfers at the moment. i don't really have time for hosting at the moment, but hope to host again when i'm living in my own space and have some more time.

i have hosted in the past a fair amount when i was living with my folks in boston. i look forward to hosting again in the future when i have more time to share with surfers and a home that supports guests.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

i had my first official couch surfing experience in istanbul a few years back when a brother hosted me and my friend for five days. it was the first time for all of us, although i'd been living this with this friend, in switzerland for the previous two months. anyhow we were amazed to be so easily in the home of a beautiful brother who wanted to take care of us, and loved the exchange, a good balance of being shown around and having our space.

i have since had many more experiences of staying with folks and hosting them that reminded me of my joy of traveling and far-off lands and love the exchange.

Interests

music, including singing, fiddling, traditional bulgarian and other full-voice traditions of singing, birth, women's health. being a doula, becoming a midwife. knitting, reading, cooking. qi gong, herbalism, healing work, tui na, cranio sacral, jin shin jyutsu.

  • singing
  • folklore
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • violin
  • surfing
  • buddhist
  • sikhism
  • swimming
  • religion
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

books:
- all of ina may gaskin's books
- the continuum concept
- birth stories: mystery, power, and creation
- the natural pregnancy book
- lady's hands, lion's heart: a midwife's saga
- artemis speaks: VBAC stories
- journey into motherhood
- bel canto
- mists of avalon
- the hours
- anything by gabriel garcia marquez,

music: celtic, balkan/bulgarian, indian classical, gypsy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

walked through the mist in dharamsala during monsoon where it was so wet that i felt like i was swimming through the air and couldn't see more than a few feet in front of me. i was wary to leave my house after dark for fear i wouldn't find my way back home, it was like walking out into the faerie realms and wondering if i'd make it back.

Teach, Learn, Share

all things birth! some great cooking and baking. i love making dal and curries, vegetarian stir-fries and stews.

What I Can Share with Hosts

whatever i've been reading about recently, probably related to the awesomeness of the human body and its capacity to overcome adversity. cool little tidbits about herbalism. happy to teach how to knit! i knit continental, which is easiest for lefties (like me!) but could probably figure out how to teach american knitting as well, since i learned that style originally. if you give me a heads up i can even bring yarn and needles to gift, i've been slowly acquiring a stash for just that purpose!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Germany, India, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, India, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Elizabeth’s full profile. It’s free!