Tara McDonald's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 53, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Medical Caregiver
  • MAEd in Sociology, Anthropology, Religion & Education
  • From Knoxville, TN, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Easy to approach, authentic, silly, serious, comfortable in my own skin, genuine in everything I do. I have a son, born 2010, and a daughter, born 2005. We are Unitarian Universalist. Social justice activism is my hobby. I also paint, refurbish old furniture, and crochet. I love to dance and sometimes sing in various choirs. What I treasure most about CS is my kids growing up with international friends, big city friends (we're rural), and friends from all different races, classes, states, and ethnicities. I also love cooking for/with guests!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Got invited by a friend to the Greenville CS Lake Crash 2016, and loved the people. Lake Keowee was awesome. Everyone was so friendly, sharing food and drink. They all reached out to include others. Community spirit! Loved it. Took my kids to the Charleston CS Beach Crash 2017. Went to a bunch of other Crash events. Took a break during pandemic, now back at it.
As a teen, I hosted summer exchange students from France and Spain. As an adult, I've hosted students from Germany and China for the school year, who are now my other daughters. I've tutored students from Korea, Poland, Ukraine, Russia, Mexico, and all over the place. Humans are biologically supposed to live communally, tribally, so I like making the globe a little smaller. I love how Couchsurfing thwarts capitalism and consumerism with its cooperative nature, too. My kids and I also just love to host.

Interests

  • singing
  • dancing
  • ethics
  • cooking
  • crochet
  • painting
  • hiking
  • camping
  • social justice
  • waterfalls
  • acroyoga
  • ethnic food
  • artist
  • choral singing

Music, Movies, and Books

Handmaid's Tale, all the Star Treks except Lower Decks, Atomic Habits, Rewired: Protecting Your Brain In The Digital Age, Game of Thrones, Your Competent Child, The Continuum Concept, Hold Onto Your Kids, Attachment Parenting, Contact, Call the Midwife, Gracie and Frankie, Friends, Mad About You, Firefly, X-Files, The West Wing, The Dresden Files, Santa Clarita Diet, the Mists of Avalon series, dystopias/utopias, anything by Barbara Kingsolver, anything about neuroscience.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The pinnacle hike in Sylva, NC. Okay, being student keynote speaker for MLK Day at Okla State U was cool too, speaking in front of over 5000 people. Being chosen as a representative to the annual conferences of the Drug Policy Foundation and the National Organization for Women. Doing international conference logistics planning. Oh, and I'm a bad-ass disability advocate and fulltime caregiver for my 3 family members who have muscular dystrophy.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love cooking (can do Indian, Thai, American, gourmet, creative, healthy, organic, know how to do many vegan or low carb or gluten-free items, make butter/yogurt/kefir from scratch), fermentation, wild food foraging, etc. We're omnivores who also like tofu and vegetarian food. I like to refinish wood, crochet, make word art, paint, do home repair, and construction. Want to learn more about tiling and carpentry. Enjoy meditation, neuroscience, self-improvement, all things sociology, politics. Can teach any of these subjects as well as estate planning, financial management, applying for govt benefits and disability, etc. I can teach you some basic dance steps or acro-yoga moves.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If someone hosts me and the kids, they could certainly have amazing meals if desired. (My dad was a gourmet chef for $200/plate fundraisers, and he taught me a thing or two, as did generations of country cooks on mom's side). The kids are great conversationalists and very respectful. We clean up after ourselves. You wouldn't need to entertain us -- super flexible -- but we would enjoy your company also if you are available to hang out or show us around.

What I can share with guests is the Land of the Waterfalls -- my county has 3 rivers, 4 forests, and over 250 waterfalls, a greater concentration than any other place in the USA. Come stay with us in the TEMPERATE RAINFOREST (!!) with some of the most incredible biodiversity on the planet. Ever seen a hellbender?!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Germany

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile.

My Groups