Tara Schumacher's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 44, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Blue Schu Photography
  • Lots of graduate school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up just outside of Chicago and, like many Midwesterners, I moved to Colorado as soon as I could. I've lived in Fort Collins for over 20 years now and love all that Colorado has to offer.

I am a molecular biologist and a photographer as well as a former educator. I love to travel and actually make the time to actually do it-- often. I even bring my snuggle-bum of a dog with me whenever possible. I've found Couchsurfing, AirBnB, and other hosting exchanges to be a great way to get out, see new places, and most importantly, meet new folks. (If you'd like to read some reviews, check out my AirBnB profile here: https://www.airbnb.com/users/show/20333327)

Travel on!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to travel (not take vacations) and have found that the folks who extend kindness while on the road are the ones who make a true traveling lifestyle warm, friendly, and wonderful.

While I was/am traveling long term and Couchsurfing makes it affordable and interesting. I want to extend that to other travelers. Additionally, it's a great way to meet people, learn about local areas, and exchange stories.

Interests

I love getting to know an area, whether it's a big city, little town, or a place to hike. I hang my hammock or set up my tent whenever possible. Regardless of where I am, I love wandering with my camera. Aside from that, I'm a coffee/tea drinker, I enjoy chilling with a book when I'm not editing photos, and love to cook.

  • dogs
  • books
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • biology
  • teaching
  • science

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a former biology educator and a retired scientist, so I love chatting and teaching science-y things, especially with kids. I also adore cooking for people. Because I'm on the road so much right, I don't get the chance to cook often-- it's one of my favorite things to do! Maybe share a pint?

What I Can Share with Hosts

Can I cook you dinner? Maybe bake you cookies?

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Mexico, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups