Tara Baggott's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Musician/music tutor
  • Bachelor of Music Education (honours) Sydney Conservatori...
  • From Caringbah, NSW, Australia
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore the world through music and culture. To make music accessible to everyone and meet the most amazing people along the way!

ABOUT ME

I am a 31 year old Aussie currently living in Bristol. I Studied Music Education back in Sydney. and my main instrument is the piano but also play guitar, flute, a bit of sax and have most recently established myself as a singer/singing teacher. Currently learning drums and accordion and dabble in a bit of music and sound production.

I moved to Bristol mainly because of the diverse and buzzing music scene and chose the UK to settle due to easy access to other European countries. I have travelled round Europe a little but still so much to see and explore! Love to discover places through immersing myself in the culture of the people, particularly finding out what artistically/musically makes them tick. Also love meeting new people in different countries - both locals and fellow travellers from all over the world.

I am currently the keys player in local Bristol based band 'The Rin Tins' who regularly perform around England and have played various festivals such as Glastonbury 2016 and Boomtown 2016. I also run two of my own bands, one being a swing-jazz band called "Ruby Two Shoes" and the other a 50's and 60's soul and rock'n'roll band called "Ruby and the Robinsons".

PHILOSOPHY

I believe one of our main 'purposes' in life is to be HAPPY. Regardless of how many worldly possessions we have, how popular we are, our 'rank' in the world, our ambitions. If we aren't happy, all of this is meaningless. A happy person brings joy to others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm new to this so nothing to add here - yet!

Interests

MUSIC, art, dance, theatre, nature, animals and culture.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • dancing
  • education
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • paragliding
  • teaching
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Very eclectic music tastes and am open-minded to all genres! Huge fan of swing and jazz but also love funk, soul, heavy rock, hip-hop, gypsy jazz, local Bristol bands.

Movies: Musicals from the golden era of Hollywood, weird stuff that makes you think, documentaries.

Books: music biographies are the current trend for books!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Paragliding over the most beautiful Spring-splashed landscape in Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good company and conversation, music lessons, cooking skills and a good laugh!

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!